We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleased”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markjohns...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed here on three other occasions. But after our last visit we will not return. The whole property is looking tired and could do with some tlc.

The curtain and carpet desperately needed a deep clean, some placements on the table had dried on dirt that would not come off. We also found dirty plates and bowls.

On our last visit we were greeted by scaffolding around the building. We know that some maintenance will have to be done during holiday time, however it would have been nice to be warned.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the overall cleanliness of the property. As a company we work hard to ensure guests have as comfortable and enjoyable a stay as possible. Had you made us aware of this during your stay we would have arranged for the cleaner to go back to the property. We do however hope that these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you to a different property in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiewarr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central location & comfy beds”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Good central location, with buzzer door entry system which wasn't working when we stopped and with only one key was a real pain if we went out separately. The beds were very comfortable, even the singles which is often not the case, however the twin room had no wardrobe or hanging space, there was a cupboard in the hall but this was being used for storage. We stopped with an elderly relative who found the "couple of steps" to the apartment was actually four with no rail and they struggled on them. The Management Company ask you to strip the beds before you leave and empty the rubbish bin, the bins being stored away from the building and didn't appear to be labeled for recycling. The car space is located across the road behind the buildings on the opposite side of the road, just a short walk away. The kitchen appeared to be well equipped but some areas of the apartment could have been cleaned a little better, especially the shower.
NB this property only provides bed linen NOT towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The shower panel was dirty, skirting boards and some surfaces dusty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba. We are sorry to hear that you were struggling with only one key, we do always offer more than one key on collection and would have been happy to provide you with an additional key at any time during your stay. Amba is a very popular holiday let property and we do ask guests to strip the beds and take out the rubbish as this just makes the turnaround quicker for the housekeeper. However, we do understand that this may be difficult for some guests and of course it is not a problem if guests find this difficult to do. Regarding the cleanliness of the property, had you made us aware that you were a little disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the property we would have addressed this issue immediately. We hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed recently with my wife and young son and was more that pleased with our stay.

The accommodation was perfectly located, was warm and clean and fabulously furnished. There was no noise from the surroundings and the parking was a welcome relief.

Someone had managed to unconnect all of the cables for the television prior to our arrival, so we had to spend 10 minutes reconnecting and retuning and the showers lacked the usual pressure that you would expect but I'm nit-picking. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba, Keswick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were very happy with the apartment and its location. It is great to hear that you would stay there again in a heartbeat and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidBarras
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Excellent flat in convenient location”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The flat is very convenient for everything in Keswick. All the shops and the lake are easy to walk to.
It is very close to the agent where the keys are collected and this was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Parking is close to the Royal Oak . The parking is reserved and we had no problems with this although space is a premium here and out VW T5 was quite a big vehicle to squeeze in.

The Royal Oak public areas are pleasant clean and well maintained. The lift is to be avoided except when absolutely necessary. It worked OK but there was no light and it is very small so all in all a bit scary.

The flat itself is spacious. It was clean on arrival. The flat has everything you need. The kitchen is well equipped and we appreciated the small touches like 6 dishwasher tabs left for us. It was lovely to use the Denby tableware. There were plenty of dishes and pans.

The lounge is very comfortable. Wev particularly appreciated all tyhe lovely books about the Lake District. W had good weather so didnt get round to watching any of the DVD's that are on the shelves.

The beds are comfortable. Bedding fresh and clean and bed made up on arrival.. The en suite is small but everything worked.

We had a small dog with us and it was suitable for him. There is even a dog bowl in the cupboard!

We have rented a lot of holiday accomodation over the years. This rental was no fuss. No deposits or extras charged for electricity or anything else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Quality stuff in the kitchen.
Liked least: The tumble dryer was broken
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Amba, Royal Oak House. We are delighted you enjoyed the property and its location. As a company we do pride ourselves on excellent Customer Service and we are so pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempston Bedfordshire
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 May 2014
Thank you for your review

We are glad that you had a lovely time in Keswick and that you were very happy with the accommodation provided.

We are aware that you had a problem with the lift on your day of arrival, a member of staff did attend the property with you and show you how the lift worked, we were not aware that you had further issues during your stay, had this information been forthcoming we would have been able to have the issue rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing