We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Hen House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
janinec11...
1 review
“The Hen House”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely little cottage in a very quiet location, fresh eggs left for us from there own chickens which we enjoyed watching them running round during the day, we had a friendly welcome shortly after we arrived. Location in easy reach of lots of places to visit, we loved it it’s definitely worth a stay thank you Lesley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thanks for the lovely review Janine and we'd love to welcome you back at any time.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Hen house is a lovely cottage with everything you need at hand. We were welcomed with fresh eggs homemade mince pies and a bottle of prosecco all very nice. My husband myself and our dog stayed for a few days at new year. We took a trip to Kendal which was a lovely town but the rain took its toll on us as we got soaked through and headed back to the hen house. Unfortunately the weather was not great on our trip so we could not do the walks the fields were very wet and muddy. We also had to cut our trip short and go home a day early due to work commitments. We did enjoy the hen house and think it would be great in the summer time. Perhaps we will go again when the weather is better.
Thanks for a relaxing few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed the eggs, mince pies and prosecco.

Hope to see you again
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage is ideally equipped and situated for exploring Kendal and the surrounding areas. We had a 5 day break and couldn't wish for a nicer cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Thank you for the lovely review Michelle - you were the perfect guests.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marekkuku...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfectly situated for both relaxation and exploration”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A snug little cottage situated in a quite part of the lakes.well appointed ( but don't forget your towels ! ) and warm .Well placed for visiting all the highlights by car and no lack of paths for the adventurous.Would visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Hi Marek - thanks for the lovely review and we'd love to have you visit again. You left the cottage beautifully clean, and towels not a problem :-)

Thanks
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
311Kay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Retreat ”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have just spent a long weekend at The Hen House which we found very cozy & cute. It was plenty big enough for 2 adults, a teenager and large dog with everything you would need for a short break. Perfectly positioned to travel The Lake District but a car is essential with the surrounding being very rural and extremely picturesque.

Thoroughly enjoying our stay and would definitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we would love to welcome you back any time. Hope you enjoyed the climbing wall!

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing