We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shaun's 50th weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room seats 14 Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Dining room seats 14
Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen/diner
Lounge leading to kitchen
Lounge with multifuel burning stove, beams.
Twin bedroom
Hallway - leading to back garden, parking area and detached garage
Gill Side Barn front entrance
Alpacas in the paddock  having a paddle can be seen from the barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Murrayblu...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shaun's 50th weekend”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic time at the cottage which was perfectly appointed and set up for our five families to get together for a 50th celebration weekend. Set in a great location that is far away enough for peace and quiet but also within driving distance of Kendal if needed.
Both owners were very helpful and entertaining on the Alpaca visit.
Highly recommended !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sashought...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Can't rate this property highly enough. Stayed for the weekend in Gillside barn for a 50th birthday celebration. The accommodation was excellent with perfect amenities for a large party. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. We had the opportunity to spend some time with the alpacas. Thank you Joe and Wendy for a fabulous weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KG_1977
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“School reunion”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a great place for old (or not so old) school friends to meet up with children.

I can't really say much more than the other 5 star reviews. Beautiful place, location, clean, just great really. And the alpacas are very cute!

A raucous hen party next door could have spoilt our stay but the owners Joe and Wendy were so apologetic and lovely that I can't even dock any stars for that!

The only thing which could be improved is the number of teaspoons in the kitchen, just not enough!

Thanks Wendy and Joe, wishing you lots of luck in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind comments glad you and your children all enjoyed the school reunion. Sorry about the lack of teaspoons we were unaware they had gone down in number, we will refill the barn with some more. Glad the children and adults enjoyed our Alpaca Experience too. All the best. Wendy & Joe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsL8277
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Hen party = perfect house”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked for a hen party, perfect location to allow those coming from the motorway a quick arrival! We were lucky enough to have look round prior to the weekend, massive lounge, kitchen and plenty of bathrooms to allow is all time to get ready! We made use of the perfect weather and sat out on the garden furniture to do some fun and games. (We set up an aerial silks rig in the garden!!)
We rented the two attached cottages so were able to make use of the massive ovens enabling everyone to eat at the same time! Plenty of plates, cutlery and most importantly glasses in both cottages made it easy to cater for the 30 people staying! The owners were so helpful and made us feel at home straight away! The alpacas were so lovely to see, and we were allowed to feed them! Would def recommend these cottages, perfect for a few family's getting together or a big party like we had! Thanks again for having us xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
It was a pleasure to have you and the aerial silks rig was something we have never seen here before - a good idea for a group activity. Hope the big day goes well for everyone. Regards. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
1 review
“The perfect escape for a group getaway”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We booked this barn to celebrate my husbands 40th, there were 17 of us all together. the barn was cosy yet spacious and modern with its amenities.
The scenery was most wonderful to wake up to and Jennifer our host was lovely.
I would highly recommend this place to friends and i hope to visit it again myself one day soon.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing