We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room seats 14 Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Dining room seats 14
Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen/diner
Lounge leading to kitchen
Lounge with multifuel burning stove, beams.
Twin bedroom
Hallway - leading to back garden, parking area and detached garage
Gill Side Barn front entrance
Alpacas in the paddock  having a paddle can be seen from the barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AshB22
2 reviews
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed in Gill Side Barn for my friends hen party last weekend...absolutely amazing!!!! Stunning accommodation and scenery. Leading up to and including our stay Wendy went above and beyond. Cannot recommend highly enough. (And that's without the alpacas!!!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I just wish I could have stayed for longer than one night. We booked Gill Side Barn for my sister's hen do - there was 12 of us but went for the bigger cottage as the layout of the kitchen, lounge and dining room was ideal. Spacious, so comfortable, luxurious, wifi, amazing views, fantastic facilities. The thing for me when I stay at any place is always the bathroom - the 2 bathrooms, en-suite and toilet were very clean, easy to use and lots of room. Nothing felt second rate but as soon as I stepped in it felt like home. All the girls really loved the place, the photos on the website don't do it justice - make a viewing if you can. Also the alpaca visit the next day was the icing on the cake, Wendy and Joe are lovely, so accommodating and helpful - from the initial booking enquiry through to the very end of our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A large group of us stayed for my brother's stag do and even with a big group of lads it felt spacious and comfortable.

All the beds were large and the kitchen well equipped for cooking for everyone.

It is a beautiful location and easy to find - not too far from the lakes and public transport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurad656
Liverpool, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic 30th Birthday!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed at Gill Side Barn for my 30th birthday with 15 friends and was not disappointed in the slightest! Beautiful property and Wendy and Joe are lovely people who couldn't have made us more welcome. The cottage is modernly furnished to a high standard and with a welcome basket and wood for the fireplace waiting for us on arrival, we really couldn't have asked for anything more. For a property of this size, the quality of everything is superb including the beds! Kendal is about a 15 minute drive away and there are sufficient taxi firms offering mini buses to get into town for a big group. Good for a night out! Lots to do locally as well, we did clay pigeon shooting and quad biking whilst we were there. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicismum
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Alpaca bag and be back tomorrow! Highly Recommended! Best Birthday Yet!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Gill Side Barn and had the most fantastic time! The Barn is perfect! Gorgeous interior, beautifully decorated and very spacious! There were 16 in our party and there was plenty of room. You are spoilt for choice with the bedrooms as they are all beautiful! The kitchen is well equipped with everything you could possibly need including dishwasher, dryer and washer! We arrived to a welcome basket of goodies and a basket of fire wood for the log burner!
Joe and Wendy the owners are fantastic; nothing is too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed feeding the Alpacas each day and Joe was highly entertaining! All in all, we were blown away by the property, it is a credit to Wendy and Joe's hard work and we can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!! Alpaca's, log burner, decor, quality family time!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing