We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PHILBGlas...
GLASGOW
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent the weekend here for our annual family reunion. The cottage is finished to an extremely high standard. It's comfortable, spotless and plenty of room. We had a fantastic time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannefor...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful modern house. Clean comfortable lodging. Brilliant location for large family gathering and lovely to see the alpacas. Definately recommend and return. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Di G
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've just returned from a hen weekend and not one of us were disappointed with Meadow View, in fact we were all overwhelmed rather than underwhelmed as is often the case with holiday lets. The pictures and website description do not do it justice, you just have to trust these reviews and visit yourself and believe me the place is a Tardis, one hen actually commented she kept getting lost it was so spacious (and that was before she started drinking!!). The accommodation was spotless, and furnished to a very high spec. Little touches such as the dining table being already set with place mats, cutlery and napkins, all ready to use, just helped to make our stay even more enjoyable. Never at any point did anyone feel they were in the way, it was plenty big enough to accommodate 16 of us, so even at full capacity of 17 adults you won't feel cramped. There are stair gates built into the staircases so safe for young children. Our only disappointment was the weather was too warm for the time of year and we didn't get to light the log burner, which we wanted to do just to witness the beautiful stone fireplace in all it's glory. Visiting and feeding the Alpacas is a must, whatever your age and completed the visit for us. Plenty of parking (we easily accommodated 8 cars). All in all, for large groups (either family or friends) this place is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky2419...
1 review
“Luxury stay that is simply superb”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Every two years my rather large family head to the Lake District for a week. We are a mixed bunch - 18 in number aged 9 months to 67 years - and we need a base that will enable good access to the fells as well as places of interest for the children. Meadow View Barn was perfect. The accommodation is spacious and there is enough space to park 6 cars comfortably. It has a lovely feel - lots of oak and natural colours - that was both cosy and stylish. The location is good in that access to both the Lakes and the Dales is fairly straightforward and we were able to pack our week with activities in both locations. We were also treated to a visit to the alpacas which is an experience we won't forget in a hurry! I'm not sure that our ever expanding family will fit Meadow View Barn in two years time, but if it does we will definitely be returning. Thank you so much for a brilliant stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing