We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accomodation in a lovely location with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beatrice...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in a lovely location with Alpacas!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for a weekend hendo with a group of 17 in Gill Side Barn. The accommodation looks lovely on the website, but the photos really doesn't do it justice! The house is gorgeous! It has a really communal feel - there is a lovely big cosy living room with big squishy sofas, a big hearth with a log burner and a beautiful brand new shiny kitchen! There's also a dining room which is perfect for dinner for big groups. The beds were really comfy and the whole place is beautifully furnished. It's really easy to get to from the M6, but in a beautiful quiet location and only 5 miles from Kendal. Joe and Wendy are lovely and we had so much fun feeding and petting their herd of alpacas! They are such cute friendly gentle animals, it was a real highlight of the weekend! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough! Thanks for a brilliant weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel J
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in fantastic countryside!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Meadow View for a hen weekend and had a fantastic weekend. Wendy and Joe were incredibly helpful and accommodating, taking in a supermarket shop for us before our arrival and letting us have a late check out as well as being on hand for any questions we might have and to show us around the property. The house and surroundings were beautiful and well looked after and we saw the Alpacas being fed both mornings, the hen was even allowed to heard the animals! I would fully recommend hiring this house and would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect weekend. Accommodation was immaculate, modern and accessible.”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed in Meadow View Barn with 14 friends for a stag doo. The best man kept the accommodation a surprise until we all arrived and what a surprise it was! All of us were blown away by the spec of the place given what we'd paid and could not have been happier. All the rooms were in perfect condition, complete with clean soft towels and plenty of storage. The music sound system was brilliant as well, letting us play our iPods throughout the whole house. Bathrooms were spacious and plentiful (rarely an occasion and when you're left waiting for a shower even in a 15-strong group.) Wendy (joint owner) was even kind enough to post my pyjamas back to me after I managed to leave them behind (thanks Wendy!)

Overall the trip was fantastic. The photos accurately portray the lovely setting the barn is in, although nothing beats the real thing. Given Kendal town centre was only a short drive away, we had everything we needed for a great lads weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and setting - having such a brilliant house looking out over rolling hillsides
Liked least: Internet connection would have been good, although it is nice to switch off from the world.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banrion19...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed here with a group of ladies in May. Couldn't praise the house highly enough. Very spacious and finished to an extremely high standard. Lovely location, didn't get to explore much because of the awful weather.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davorla
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing - can't believe someone hasn't already reviewed this place”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

What a fabulous place I booked for my hen party of 13 ladies from all over the UK and Ireland - I was nervous with not having any previous reviews, but was sold on the photos of the property and how new and modern it looked. And we were not disappointed, everyone was raving about the place, and gushing to take photos, to show family and friends and encourage them to book here!
On arrival the property was immaculate, and so so spacious. The directions to get there were perfect, as it is quite rural, but just fabulous. We ran around the house like kids on Christmas morning to Ooooos and Ahhhhhs! even the towels smelled immaculate. We practically stayed in all weekend, due to the weather, and at no point even was there the feeling of cabin fever, as the house is so spacious. I think we counted 5 bathrooms so no one was ever stuck, and the only only issue we had was that the hot water ran out ... but I think this was by about shower 9 or 10 all within a couple of hours....totally to be expected. And the couple (sorry only remember Wendy's name) were on hand to help us sort that. There was a hen party in the cottage next to us...that we didn't even hear once, but saw that they had loads of activites planned like wine tasting and bootcamp, and even had an Asda food delivery which Wendy told us she put away for them as it came before they arrived!!! How lovely! Just stunning...the photos don't lie - and I would recommend to anyone and everyone! Oh one slight thing....for those internet / phone people, it was half and half really for those of us who had signal and those who didn't! To be honest, I quite liked that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer modern / cleanliness
Liked least: Maybe internet access at a push - hard to dislike anything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing