We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
119
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preserves paul's home juliet balcony hosts paul rhubarb and ginger lake district house martins beautiful breakfast guest house will definately be going back rural setting yogurt clean rooms helpful advice the en suite bathroom set us up for the day beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We have just spent 3 days at the Millers Beck Guest House where we were warmly welcomed by the owners Paul and Granville. We were given a fantastic room with French Windows opening up to a glorious view of the surrounding countryside. The guest house was a former mill house and our room overlooked the mill stream. The hotel was spotless and an ideal place to relax. It had loads of information on the area and they were also very helpful when asked for advice. There is a pub about 10 - 15 minutes walk away called the Punch Bowl which does lovely food, but no comparison to the breakfast supplied in the morning by the guest house. They serve the best poached eggs ever :) Lake Windermere is about 20 minutes away by car and is a place you must visit for some fantastic photo opportunities. In all we had a lovely relaxed weekend in an ideal setting and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Millers Beck is a stylish, comfortable conversion of a former water mill with a choice of B&B rooms or self-catering accomodation.

Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed with views over the surrounding countryside.

The breakfast room, in a conservatory beside the mill stream and mature garden, is a relaxed location for an excellent breakfast.

All in all, an ideal location for exploration of the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meldrew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed weekend of 7th May and couldn't have asked for more. The proprietors Paul and Grenville were great hosts. Local knowledge with where to eat pointed us towards the local pub a couple of miles down the road

Millers Beck although next to the A65 is a quiet countryside retreat far enough out of Kendal to be rural but only 5-10min drive into the town centre. Road noise was never apparent, more comforting was the flowing water in the beck. Countryside views from our second floor room. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, Wi-Fi worked well. Paul gave us keys to the front door and told us to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast (cereal/cooked English/toast/juice fresh coffee/tea) was plentiful (fantastic sausages) and set us up for the day. Their home made jams were the icing on the cake. Thanks again guys and we hope to be back Sep/Oct with some friends

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Back again!!! This visit we stayed in one of the self catering flats. It was wonderful.
It had everything you could need for a few nights away from home. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Even though we were self catering Paul was on hand for a chat and catch up and for advise on were to visit etc. We stayed 3 nights as we first went to the Westmorland Show and then two days of sheep sales. See you in 2016.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersBeck, Owner at Millers Beck, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thanks Vicki. Look forward to seeing you both again in September. Just give us a call to make sure you get the best deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel and spot. will definitely be returning soon. Had 2 lovely nights here close to lakes and punchbowl. Cannot recommend Paul and Grenville's place enough and fellow Huddersfield guys Breakfast lovely and atmosphere scenic and lush. High praise for everything.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Happypam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersBeck, Owner at Millers Beck, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thanks. Glad you all had a good time and thanks for the chocolate bunny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews