We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
229
291
158
64
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
291
158
64
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed travelzoo offer steam room and jacuzzi groupon deal evening meal lovely hotel lamb spa facilities set menu birthday treat booked this hotel plenty of parking one night stay room was clean and comfortable lake district food was lovely a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Booked a Travelzoo bed, breakfast, evening meal deal. Perfect.
All of the staff were professional, polite, helpful and accommodating.

The corridors are a bit narrow and dark because this is an older building but the rooms are light. Our room was clean and comfortable. Even though it’s situated on the main road it was not noisy.

The pool area was very nice and the jacuzzi warm and relaxing after a long drive.

The menu had an interesting selection.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glynis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonecross, Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Glynis98

Am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, it is always lovely to read such nice comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Stonecross in the future.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived in the very nice renovated reception area and greeted by the friendly receptionist Di..
Quick easy check in and went to check out the room.. although very nice we had booked a twin and it was a double.. reception offered us a king size or a family room which was a double and single.. it was perfect and quickly sorted out..
Comfy beds,clean and very quiet.. bathroom also very clean and loads of hot water..

We had booked a deal with dinner on first night.
Excellent choice of starters and mains.. very pleasant waiter and seated us and took order very quickly. Lovely new renovated dining room.. bright area and spacious..
Had honemadevsoup to start and chicken with asparagus for main..
Loved them both.. deal was for two people for meal up to £45.. excellent deal.

Great night sleep and breakfast was excellent too.. choice of cereals, fruit juices,prunes,grapefruit,and z cooked choice.. plumped for scrambled eggs and salmon.. friend had eggs Benedict.. really nice and set us up for the day..

hotel olso has a fantastic pool,steam room and jucuzzi.never got a chance to use but wish I was staying longer to get the use.

Overall, enjoyable stay, great staff (Di)a fountain of knowledge for the area..well presented rooms and dining room was modern and clean..

Definitely book again if deal comes up...

Thanks to all the staff for a really enjoyable stay..

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Johnleomcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonecross, Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Johnleomcl

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us and am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will pass your comments back to the whole team (Di in particular!) and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

this is a very nice quiet hotel about 25 minutes walk into the centre of Kendal. An ideal base for the Lakes. Just went for a two night peaceful break and that is what we got. They are refurbishing the bedrooms, we were in a newly refurbished room. Very nice and comfortable, bright and breezy and plenty of hot water. Ate in the restaurant the first night, very pleasant surroundings. Meals were very nice and good sized portions. Lounge area was very nice and comfortable. Used the leisure facilities twice, not a very big pool but adequate, better when there are not a lot of people in. As noticed by another review the pool was very,very cold but we still managed to have a swim. The steam room and jacuzzi were good. All staff throughout our stay were very pleasant and polite, a credit to the hotel. If you want a nice relaxing break within easy reach of the lakes I would definately recommend a stay here

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank jumbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonecross, Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear jumbay

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at the hotel and thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Stonecross in the future

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Old facade but very tasteful modern ground floor interior,lounge ,restaurant and bar .We had set evening meal which was perfectly cooked,presented and probably the best value for money in Kendal. Our fully modernised room on the top floor had everything one could want ie bath/shower,complimentary tea,coffee,bottled water,biscuits etc.And finally,the pool,steam room and jacuzzi an unexpected bonus for a 3*? hotel!

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank nedrow5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

First time staying over in Kendal. I have often passed Stonecross Manor Hotel on my way to Kendal. Met at receception by lovely friendly staff. We were staying with a voucher with Travel zoo and opted for an upgrade room for an extra £10 a night. We were in room 208 which was on the second floor. There is a lift but it is small but it does the job. I have mobility issues and it was fine for me. The room has recently been refurbished. It was in the eves of the hotel so the ceiling was low in places. The bathroom has been done beautifully. Evening meal was fine. The menu was small but that was fine by us as sometime you can be overwhelmed by choice. Had a comfortable sleep and a lovely breakfast in the morning. All in all a lovely stay worth the money.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews