We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 294
USD 285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
USD 102
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 139
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 141
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,026)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveller rating
1,222
568
163
54
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,222
568
163
54
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundslovely hotellake districtpool and steam roomhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely viewfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We have been to this hotel many times and have always been impressed with the service, the friendly staff, the food and the rooms. This visit was no exception. We were made welcome by the great staff on reception and were given a superb room. The breakfasts and evening meals were outstanding as usual and it was nice to be able to have a leisurely swim in the pool. We cannot rate this hotel highly enough and will most certainly be back again in the near future. Ps a special mention of Rob who went out of his way to make our stay special.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for an outstanding review!

Thank you also for recommending us to others and I will share your very kind words with Rob and with the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We decided to brave the awful Easter weather and get away for a very last minute overnight stay in Cumbria. We paid £119 for a double room with breakfast and to be honest I wasn't expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a lovely time. The fabric of the hotel was nice, no tatty bits and the ambience was relaxed and seemed focused on making sure everybody had a nice stay. The people that worked there were friendly and attentive and the service felt genuine. We ate in the less posh restaurant, Alexander's. it was marketed as a pub but really was a relaxed and casual dining experience. We had 2 courses plus drinks and I paid about £50. I would definitely stay here again and actually emailed the manager when we got home to say how much we enjoyed our short stay. It's quite close to town and there is plenty of parking.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Lovely review and the team will enjoy reading it, I'm pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. As you say - Alexander's offers a relaxed dining experience with great traditional pub food and grills on offer. The Greenhouse restaurant in the hotel also offers an informal dining experience but with the emphasis on locally sourced ingredients and flavoursome dishes. As such we feel we offer something for everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Castle Green Hotel is set up high which takes in the views for miles around. Situated only 10 minutes by car from Kendal Town and in easy reach of the Lake District.
The newly refurbished rooms are lovely, food excellent, spa facilities great. A wonderful place to stay for as long as you can.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the front if possible
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hilaryholden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for this useful account of your stay at the Castle Green. I'm sure the rest of the team will enjoy reading it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were originally booked in to the riverside hotel in Kendal but when we arrived they had a burst pipe which had wiped 10 rooms out and had no room for us but the receptionist there had found us a room in the castle green hotel which was a little further out of town which we didn’t mind as it was being covered by the riverside hotel, but a bit scared of where they were sending us as we hadn’t heard of the hotel before, so we went on our way to not knowing where we were going to be staying. 10 mins up the road We pulled up to a big white building which looked very maintained and very upmarket we got to reception and it was lovely inside the staff were amazing, the room was lovely too, we went to Alexander’s for our evening meal which is on the same grounds as the hotel and does amazing pub grub, we had an amazing stay and experience the staff were fantastic very helpful, so after all that next time we are in Kendal we will be back to the castle green hotel sorry riverside

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gjz4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for this 5/5 review.

Looks like we've gained some new fans! I'm glad we were able to ease your worries about staying somewhere different in Kendal and it sounds like your stay was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Decided to stay here for two days.The hotel is great,friendly staff and very helpful.
Breakfast was very good indeed.
Kendal was not to far away.
The room was great and very clean.
We had evening meal in the restaurant to start we had pigeon could have been a little more on the plate for a starter,but tasty.
I had the steak which was really good,desserts we the cheeses and the mini desserts.
All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms were very warm.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillybobs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review, which I'm sure others will find useful when planning their next trip to the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.

Best regards,
Ben Mayou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews