We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 101
USD 89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 186
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
USD 98
USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 158
USD 139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 92
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveller rating
1,213
565
162
54
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,213
565
162
54
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundslovely hotellake districtpool and steam roomhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely viewfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

My Birthday treat was to this gorgeous hotel. Stunning surroundings, the staff extremely professional and friendly. Restaurant served high quality amazing food. Room service was utilised all weekend! Fantastic stay, and we will definitely be back Xxx

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, lovely setting, ideal for south lakes, good room, good pub, good breakfast and when the sun shines what more could you ask for !Spent the day in Bowness and The Lythe Valley and when rooms are all taken in these places The Castle will not let you down

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mash1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

With a Circa £200 per room dinner bed and breakfast rate we thought it was good value. The dinner allowance was £30 each and we put it towards a wonderful Chateau Briand. Dinner service was excellent in the greenhouse restaurant. We were meeting another family there and they were late but despite being an hour after our booked time they accommodated us perfectly. Breakfast service was less good -- although a buffet, items running out took a while to be replaced, people waited to be seated and my pot of tea arrived when I had nearly finished. And there seemed to be plenty of staff around... Rooms are clean and comfortable if not massive. The gym is pretty well equipped and the pool while not fancy was a good size and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I wanted two rooms for 4 adults and 3 children, so phoned to arrange the best configuration. The requirements were supplied with minimum fuss. Upon arrival all was as requested. Our son's room, a family room was very large and more than adequate.
The swimming pool is excellent, though there are limits to when children can use it.
Breakfast was excellent. The service at the evening meal could have been better, they seemed to be oblivious to the ages of the children and service was slow and protracted.
But that was the only blip.
Check out of 12.00 is excellent for weekend breaks.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a business trip with 12 colleagues, the room was comfortable, staff were friendly and service prompt and efficient. There are two restaurants at the hotel and we ate at The Alexander, which serves fairly traditional "pub grub" style food, all of which was pretty good. The only fault was that having asked how I'd like the steak which came with the mixed grill I ordered, and having asked for it rare, when I was served I was told it was not possible to have it rare, it could only be medium as the steak was too thin. Nonetheless, as a whole the stay was a success.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Finian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews