We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dim”
Cosy Lounge - open fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Lounge - open fireplace
Cosy Lounge - entrance to kitchen Sawrey Knotts - front of house - Spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Cosy Lounge - open fireplace
Cosy Lounge - entrance to kitchen
Sawrey Knotts - front of house - Spring
Bedroom
Shower Room
Kitchen (1)
Kitchen (2)
Private Rear Patio / Small Sitting Out Area
Rockery Suite Garden - '...a host of golden daffodils' - early Spring (Gary Linley)
Rockery Suite Garden - Snowdrops, early Spring (Gary Linley)
View South To Lake Windermere From Front Garden
View West To Coniston Fells From Front Garden
Sawrey Knotts - front of house - Winter
Sawrey Knotts & Claife Heights - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
The Sentries Of Sawrey Knotts (morning shift) - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
The Sentries Of Sawrey Knotts (evening shift) - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
Welcome To Far Sawrey
Far Sawrey & Claife Heights
The Cuckoo Brow Inn, Far Sawrey
St Peter's Church, Far Sawrey
Footpath From Near Sawrey to Far Sawrey
Parklands Country Club, Bowness
Sawrey Stores, Far Sawrey
Cottage, Far Sawrey
Sawrey May Fair (1) - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
Sawrey May Fair (2) - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
Welcome To Near Sawrey - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
Tarn Hows (1) - 20 mins drive - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
Tarn Hows (2) - 20 mins drive - 'Sawrey In The Spring'
'Are You Looking For Trouble?'
Sawrey Knotts - Jan 2013
Snow Cake on The Patio Table
Helga - our marvellous house-keeper, clearing the carpark
View South from The Main Entrance
St Peter's Church from Sawrey Knotts
The Cuckoo Brow Inn, Far Sawrey
'What do you think you are looking at?'
Claife Heights above The Cuckoo Brow Inn
Welcome to Far Sawrey
'Are you ready for a walk?'
Work Never Stops - Sawrey
'I'm Melting!'
Moss Eccles Tarn, Claife Heights
Langdale Pikes over Moss Eccles Tarn
The Long March - Claife Heights
Red, Green, White and Blue!
Footpath from Near Sawrey to Far Sawrey
Snowy Copse, Far Sawrey
'When The Wind Blows' - Claife Heights
Bunches of Berries, Claife Heights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawkshead, Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pamela b
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dim”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The apartment it's self was lovely everything you could wish for. The down side was the sitting room was very dark unlike the bedroom. Even the lights did not make much improvement.

The very small outside seating area was perched almost a metre high on a small ledge accessed by some slate steps. I did not feel comfortable sitting up there

However the grounds of the house were immacualate with ample of sitting out areas

A lovely touch they have attached for a milkman to deliver milk for you every morning and other items can be requested from him

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday apartment”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We absolutely loved the Rockery Suite at Sawrey Notts with its lovely original sitting room including an impressive fire place, really comfortable bed room, excellent shower room and very well equipped kitchen. We stayed there with our little lurcher and the local pub (which really is within a few mins walk) is extremely dog friendly, with really nice food and welcoming staff. In all one of the best self catering places we have stayed.
Minor criticisms were that it needs a couple of reading lamps in the sitting room for older ones with dimming vision!! Also the back step was a bit rickety for those not too steady on their feet - like me - but still a really excellent place and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sitting room - just so relaxing
Liked least: The back step
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thankyou so much Tony & Cheryl for your very kind review - much appreciated. Glad you and your lurcher enjoyed our cosy apartment and very convenient pub! Yes, our cleaner has recently mentioned the back step - I am glad you reminded me - I shall ask one of our fine team of builders to give it some attention. Please come back. Best wishes, Malcolm & Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“..a little gem !”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

..what a great find ! I holiday in the lake district once a year and stumbled across the rockery suite as I couldn't find anything suitable / available in my usual preferred area of Elterwater / Chapel Stile ... I was not disappointed . A very warm & cosy apartment . Very well equipped. A stunning location with fantastic views over the rolling hills. The local pub ( very local - 5 minutes' walk down a track - take a torch ) was excellent for both food and Lakeland ales ! Walking back up the track one evening 'something ' shot infront of me ... flashed my torch only to see a deer staring back at me ! wonderful . I highly recommend the rockery suite for a ' get away from it all ' break in the lake district . I will return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy lounge with the massive fire place
Liked least: nothing to mention really
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your kind review Anthony - we are very pleased that you were so comfortable. The deer moment sounds like a scene out of a movie! We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Malcolm & Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charlies Review”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Rockery Suite was a last minute booking, good choice very cosy and comfortable. Everything you need is there shops at Hawkshead and near all local attractions.

Back area very secluded and would benefit from more lighting and cleaning up a bit with a lick of paint on the door and step area. Chicken wire on step needs replacing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Use of the garden and walks directly from the door
Liked least: Rear Entrance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Many thanks for the review. As it happens the rear of Sawrey Knotts has been repainted this very week, including our back door and window sills! I shall check that everything is working with the exterior lighting at the rear of the building - thank you for that information. Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rikkirobo
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, everything you could possibly need.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Part of a lovely building with beautiful gardens this is a charming apartment superbly equipped with everything you need. Thoughtful touches mean there is also plenty to keep you entertained indoors too including radios, board games and plenty of DVD's.

We had a wonderful week where even the weather was good too!
Although WIFI is available, the connections are not the best, but a week without internet connection did not spoil anything at all for us.

One small issue was a problem with a lock on the front door of the apartment, however there was another entrance at the back so it didn't matter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 74
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing