We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Ladywood Lodge”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ladywood Lodge

The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Main sitting room Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Lodge at Ladywood in autumn
Main sitting room
Fireplace
King size bed
Dining area, with table, chairs and window seat
Kitchen
Patio
View of the Lodge from White Moss Common
Lodge private woodland garden
Lodge private woodland garden
Ladywood main garden in autumn
Ladywood main garden in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
opticook
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Disappointing Cottage”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

: The cottage was ideally situated for walks and country activities, but lacked what I would regard as basic amenities.
Heating was inadequate throughout, lighting in the kitchen and lounge was not fully working, kitchen (entrance lobby really), was very small, poorly equipped (no toaster, no grill pan or frying pan), minimal crockery, cutlery and food prep equipment. Don't even think about cooking anything apart from breakfast.
The small bathroom (down two steps form the lounge) had a quirky electric shower arrangement and the towel rail cable had electrical tape around it. The small mirror was high on the wall, so if you are not tall enough you couldn't use it. No hooks for dressing gown.
Lounge was spacious with great views to the outside, but was cold. The fire surround was loose and dangerous. (fell forward twice during our stay!) TV 'stand' seemed like an afterthought, wi-fi was good but only in the window area.
The property is generally tired, poorly maintained and needs some updating. It could be really excellent with some attention to detail.
A torch and means to light the fire would be helpful.
It was not properly prepared before our arrival and the cleaner was sitting outside in her car, with the engine running, as we were packing our car to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thank you for these comments. Over the last six months we have addressed most of them. We have fixed the heater that was not working, and ensured that the storage "boosters" are also operating properly when switched on. We have replaced the TV and re-organised the sitting area in front of the fireplace, so everything fits properly. We have replaced the toaster, provided a frying pan and baking tray. There is lots of crockery stored in the cupboards in the mahogany cupboards in the main room.
Importantly, we have also replaced the cleaners, and the owner Ruth is now living on site and is able to oversee the cleaning and respond instantly if there are any problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Since this review was written we have taken steps to upgrade the Lodge.
We have put in new sofas and TV, and re-organised the sitting area in front of the fireplace. We have changed cleaners, and the owner Ruth is not living at the main house so is able to keep a close eye on the cleaning and respond if there are any problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fatange
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Ladywood Lodge”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a very relaxing stay again in this comfy, cosy lodge. Main room comprises dining, living and sleeping space with separate kitchen and bathroom off....and the main room is huge! Heaters in all rooms and we found it lovely and warm. It is nice and clean and both the sofa and bed are extremely comfy. Instant hot water from small tanks which heat super quick. We had some beautiful walks to Rydal Cave and down to the Badger Bar, and to Grasmere along the lake. Rydal Water itself is gorgeous with lots of places to swim and splash about, as there is no boating here. Rainy days were just as good, with plenty of books, games and puzzles to do plus a to and iPod dock...and wifi (best signal sitting near the window). But the main selling point for me....just peaceful, quiet and secluded...wonderful. Loved every minute of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded...but 5 minute walk to Rydal Water and main road for walk or bus.
Liked least: Nothing I really disliked. If pushed, would say fridge was small, but it has to be for kitchen size.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatange
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our first reaction on seeing the location was 'wow'. Our second reaction on entering the property was 'wow!' This is a charming lodge and we have had a most wonderful stay. It is full of character and has certainly had a big impact in terms of rest and recuperation....we have been so chilled here, and even our loopy lurcher has chilled out...he is a different dog!
We have spent a good deal of our time 'at home' in the lodge and it has been perfect. Highlights: very comfy king sized bed, lovely hot shower, wonderful log fire, iPod dock for music, window seat to watch the critters from, brilliant storage heaters which kept the place toasty warm, small but well appointed kitchen...I could go on.
We have seen robins, blue tits and other birds in the garden, and deer in the woods just beyond the garden wall.
We met the owner, Ruth, and she was lovely and welcoming.
Wifi was ok when we stayed....but wouldn't be bothered if it wasn't as there are loads of books, games and jigsaws on offer at the lodge. I started to read one of these while here...Hunter Davies A Walk Around the Lakes...and have bought it online to complete at home...such a great guide to the area.
Trips to Ambleside and Grasmere were lovely...5 minutes in the car to each. Rydal water is a wonderful place for dogs, and ours thoroughly enjoyed it.
If you want something like a Premier Inn, don't come here. But if you want a peaceful, cosy retreat in the heart of rugged natural beauty.....get here while there are still dates available! I have already booked for summer, and have recommended to friends and family...so be quick about it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, fire, garden
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacothe1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This delightful little 'studio' bolt-hole is the perfect way to relax and unwind in a beautiful setting. Set in its own woodland plot the quietness is broken only by the chattering of birds. True, the kitchen and bathroom are cold, but the real fire just adds to the cosy feel. We stayed for three nights and had everything we needed. The location of Ladywood is what makes it so great, high on a hillside over Grasmere, yet a short walk (down a bit of a hill) to Grasmere and it's restaurants and walks. Great walks right from the door. This spot to me, is a little bit of heaven. The owners have been very helpful. I have seen the few negative comments made, but in all honesty, the Lodge is as you see it on the pictures. It's extremely reasonably priced and it is the location that make it five star and worth every penny! You cannot help but totally relax.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing