We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
186
150
52
20
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
150
52
20
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish finger sandwichlake districtsteak and ale piegood sizelovely mealpuddingboth nightsgreat place to staylong walksalmonfull englishate herespecials boardwould stay againreal alea lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We have just got back from lovely break away we had staying at the Crown.
The drinks and snacks ready for us on arrival,( pre-booked) was very appreciated. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. The lady who cleaned the room for us did a brilliant job, putting the girls teddies on the beds, even folding the dog blankets- which was so sweet.
All the staff throughout the hotel were so friendly and helpful, always smiling. The bar/restaurant had a constant flow of people, despite how busy it was the staff remained calm and smiley. The food was amazing too!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomyers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had some late dinner here and found it to be a welcoming, warm pub. The place was very busy and seemed to attract regulars and tourists alike.
Dog friendly which was a bonus.
Plenty of people eating and food smelt and looked delicious.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The outside of this hotel is a bit unpreprosessing & it looks like any of many Lakes pubs - BUT the owner & staff are fabulously welcoming - not effusive but just nice & helpful and welcoming. TBH we didn't think the food would be worth staying for BUT AGAIN we were delightfully surprised. The chef's special was slow cooked beef cheeks & honestly it was beautiful. So much so that I had the same dish 2 evenings running.
And it's dog friendly - OK so you can't eat in the dining room if you have a dog, but the bar is just as nice. There is an extensive, imaginative and delicious selection of various gins served with choice of tonics. Very refreshing after a long trek.
It's very clean - we watched the engaging young lady in the bar cleaning absolutely every surface every day as we had breakfast & the rooms were spotless.
This is a pub with rooms, not a five star hotel, If that's what you want then you will be delighted by the great owner & staff & what they can offer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank apynebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Walked in to a beautifully warm inn from a very frosty snowy outside. Car parking was excellent right outside. Our room was very cosy and warm with country house decor. The staff were extremely friendly throughout our stay, especially the bar staff on the evening. We ate in the busy bar, which had a good standard of pub grub. The bar is very dog friendly with the barman supplying each dog with its own water bowl and treats. Breakfast the next morning was average, very overdone fried bread and crispy fried eggs. Unfortunately the fumes of the cleaning solutions was very over powering as we came down to breakfast and we had to request the waitress closed the door to the bar after she had cleaned it behind me as we ate.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Dalmation_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We booked this place to stay as part of my Dads 60th birthday road-trip.
Check in was friendly and hassle free, the rooms were clean and tidy and breakfast was delicious.
We had so much fun in and around Coniston I would recommend it to anyone wanting a short relaxing break!
Thanks for a great stay =).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews