We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage next to the lake”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig G
1 review
“Lovely cottage next to the lake”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage is ideally situated next to the lake and only a 1 minute walk away from its own private beach. The cottage is hidden away, just off a main road setback into some woods. Located next to a few walking trails and only a 5 minute drive to the nearest town. Will be coming back here again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thanks Craig. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the cottage is well set back and nice and peaceful. The Lake shore beach is a lovely place to enjoy too. I think your five minutes to town was probably a little optimistic- maybe on a motorbike on Sunday morning!! Do come again. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Good place for a get away from it all break. Situated in a small courtyard with two other properties, off the road in a wooded area, it's very quiet and peaceful. Private access to the lake is a plus. Small patio garden at rear great for barbecues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thanks Nick. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is quiet and peaceful and as you say, the Lake access is a bonus. Do come again. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely review - so pleased you have had a great break! Brantwood is so worth a visit! Sounds like you had a wonderful time - and thanks for the tip about the pub and ice cream shop in Hawkshead - we'll check it out next time we are up! We look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JennyBZoo...
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage with great private lake access”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have enjoyed a wonderful week at Blea Brows with our 2 young children. The cottage was warm, comfortable, clean and welcoming. We appreciated the effective heating system and plenty of hot water, as well as some logs for the fire. There was plenty of space for the 4 of us, and 6 would have been fine as well.
We didn't use the garden as we spent most of our time at the lake or exploring but it was lovely to have that private space too. The cottage doesn't have a particularly pretty view (can't see the lake) but it's very quiet and peaceful and surrounded by gorgeous woodland and wildlife.
We took our canoe and enjoyed being able to launch from the private access, the path is rough but we felt it was safe enough to leave the boats there and not carry them to and fro each time. We can recommend the short hop to Peel Island for picnics.
We had friends book the cottage opposite (Brown Howe) as they are very close to each other, and this worked really well.
My only suggestion is an emergency land line or similar, as there was no mobile signal at all. We were grateful to have wifi access to use whatsapp and email.
This is a great quiet spot in the Lake District and we hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Hi Jenny. Thanks for your review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Like you said, although it's in a courtyard, it is surrounded by lovely woodland and access to the lake is a great bonus. Peel island - Wild Cat to Swallows and Amazons officianados - is a great destination for a picnic. We've ventured there many times with toddlers up to aged Grandparents! All good fun! We'll certainly think about the emergency phone - I think we've just got used to using Vodafone!! Do come again. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simmolsim...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Brilliant base for walking and exploring the Lakes. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable. Lovely comfortable beds. A short walk to Lake Coniston. Good local pubs. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thanks for your lovely review, Jenny and James. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and you managed to get out on the water - bonus! Yes, the cottage is cosy, particularly when it's lashing down and the woodburner is on! You are most welcome to come again. Just remind us and we'll give you 10% for most valued customers! Regards, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing