We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All we needed for a comfortable stay in this...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
243Rachel...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All we needed for a comfortable stay in this beautiful,peaceful spot”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very much enjoyed our week despite heavy rain & wind. Unfortunately not able to make use of the barbeque & back garden. So much more to see & do next time!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review! Sorry you had a miserable weather week. Glad you were able to enjoy it nevertheless. It's quite nice and cosy when it's wet outside and the woodburner's on....! All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadd79
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in an unspoilt location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my Mum and Dad's 40th wedding anniversary. The location was wonderful, near enough to Coniston to not feel cut-off but in an unspoilt, peaceful place on the edge of the lake. We were lucky enough to have great weather and made the most of the garden furniture and BBQ. We had a toddler and found it quite child friendly with a high chair and cot. If you are worried about stairs you might want to pack a stair gate. It was very kind of the owners to leave us a bottle of wine for our first night and we found the place to be very clean and tidy and the decor to a good standard. If I have one small complaint it is that the high chair was very dusty and covered in cobwebs. They knew a child was coming, so it would have been nice if that was already clean. But apart from that minor point, it was a great stay and I would not hesitate to go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you were able to celebrate your parents 40th wedding anniversary there. Sorry about the travel cot. It tends to only get occasional use, but we should have ensured it was 'dust free'. We've added that job to our 'check-in' check list - Thanks!
All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilshers
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and peaceful hideaway beside the lake - just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Being already familiar with this part of the lakes (staying as a child with grandparents in Grange, caravanning with our own toddlers in Park Coppice and hiring lodges at Neum Crag), we decided this year we really wanted a lakeside cottage and Blea Brows was just the perfect place. Teenagers loved their rooms, three bathrooms meant no arguments (Brownie points) and the kitchen was very well equipped which was a good job too as we ate in more often than usual due to us all wanting to be at the beach either swimming, snorkelling, rope swinging, skimming, barbecuing and kayaking! Along for the ride was 8 month chocolate Cocker pup Eddie with a quiff who learnt to swim in Coniston Water and once he had a taster, it became an early evening daily treat! Lovely meals had in Torver at the Wilson Arms, Sun Hotel in Coniston and Cafe 26 in Keswick. We had a fantastic time and didn't want to leave - in fact Phil and Kate, can we book a regular annual slot every summer?

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thanks guys! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds very much like our family holidays at the cottage. It's brilliant for both teenagers and dogs! (our cocker spaniel loves swimming too!) We'd love you to come again and would like to offer you a 10% discount as a valued customer!
All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilliande...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning location great hideaway”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely cottage with a stunning surprise. The use of the private beach was the icing on the cake. This is a lovely well equipped cottage in a great location if you want to get away from it all. 4 adults a little one two dogs and a babe in arms managed easily with a well equipped cottage. Going to the beach at 7 in the morning was magical and the rope swing kept a 7 year old entertained along with stone skimming and swimming

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Glad you had such a great time. It is a magical place for young children. Ours enjoyed it in exactly the same way - swimming, swinging, skimming - just as yours did! Being able to go down to the lake shore early in the morning is something special. We've been going for over thirty years and we still feel privileged to be there! When we leave, we always dip our hands in the lake and make a wish. You are most welcome to come again. Thanks, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage in superb rural location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Blea Brows is a lovely cottage in an excellent location next to a lake (2 minute walk). It is fairly rural so it car is defenitely needed. But it is only a short drive to Coniston and Ambleside. There are also plenty of walks nearby.
The cottage itself is very well equipped, especially the kitchen. The living/dining area is homely and cosy, ideal for spending evenings there. The big table is great for playing games, even with 6 people! There is also a TV, an iPod docking station, books, maps and games - more than enough to keep one entertained. The fireplace is great for colder nights. We were a little unlucky with the weather so could not try the BBQ in the garden. Everything was clean and tidy. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfy too.
When we arrived we were more than surprised to find a bottle of red wine waiting for us. What a lovely welcome gift. Thank you Phil, very much appreciated! We all really enjoyed staying at Blea Brows and would love to come again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Wow! A lovely review! Thank you for your kind comments. It is always lovely when people enjoy their stay, as it is really important to us that you have a good time! Hopefully another time the weather will be kinder! Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing