We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely Cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elainezcl...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Cosy”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Granary is a gorgeous cosy cottage with high quality fixtures and fittings and a very well equipped kitchen. Everywhere was very clean and welcoming when we arrived and there was even wine and homemade cakes left for us. There are lots of books and magazines along with a good quality entertainment system to enjoy. It's in a great location in a lovely quiet hamlet but only a couple of minutes drive to the main road leading to Keswick or Cockermouth.
We miss it already and can't wait to go back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for this. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to see you again someday :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday ”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Granary was stunning. Beautifully appointed in every conceivable way. Amanda had thought of everything to make our stay feel so comfortable that we were reluctant to leave. Certainly very happy we could at least have the extra night.
A bottle of wine and some home made muffins made the country welcome complete. Amanda is a beautiful lady who has done a magnificent job with this barn conversion which is now equal to any five star accommodation anywhere in the world.
The Granary is remote yet with the town only a step away and is in the Lakes District with all the Lakes and towns close to reach.
Many thanks for our stay we have already recommended the Granary to many family members and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for this Peter. You were great guests! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you again someday :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela1...
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lush!”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The granary was warm and spotless upon arrival with some delicious carrot cakes as a welcoming gift. great lighting. The shower/bath is amazing, especially after a day out. Privacy was very much so respected. The area was lovely and quite but only 5/10 minutes away from the town but also not far from the seaside or forest adventures and lake scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely book again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for this. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly liked the bathroom! It would be lovely to see you again someday :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthOlivi...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Me and my partner stayed here last October (very late review!), and it was wonderful! Lovely cakes and bottle of wine on arrival, pristinely clean and homely. Great choice of films and things to read about the surrounding areas. We always talk about coming back here whenever we go to the Lakes again! The owners were lovely and you couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for this. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you again someday :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-Jan...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful honeymoon escape!”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Granary for our honeymoon and it was just amazing. High end finish provided a luxurious romantic hideaway that we were very sad to leave. Facilities were fantastic, we wanted for nothing! Perfectly situated in an area of the Lakes so that there's plenty of places to explore, Cockermouth, Keswick, Honister & Buttermere all within 20min drive. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
I'm delighted that you enjoyed the Granary and our area for your honeymoon getaway! I hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing