We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy retreat with everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
Cosy lounge
Cosy Lounge
Log Burner alight.
Wall View
The Log Burner on Full Coal, Real hot!
Bedroom
Bedroom
Newly fitted Double shower in Revamped Bathroom
Newly fitted Kitchen
Rear area, however, tree no longer there.
View from front of cottage
Sunset over Allonby beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jmhumphs
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy retreat with everything you need”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I'd packed the kitchen sink only to find there wasn't just a sink there already but there was wine in the fridge, local cheese and more to welcome us.

This cottage is very well equipped so you can cook like you were home - if you want to of course!

Perfectly placed to make trips into the Lake District, lovely local towns and walks on sandy beaches.

Wonderful welcome and a wonderful break.

Thanks very much.
joan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cocy sitting room and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Missed a bath but knew when booked it doesn't have one.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Dear Joan & Derek Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It is always pleasing and reassuring to us when our guests enjoy their stay so much and we are very glad that you had such a great time at Stable Cottage. Bromley Cross is not a million miles away so hopefully we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Stable Cottage again. We look forward to that. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovemyca
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic an amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I was there for a week with my partner, I have never ever been to a cottage that I have felt so welcome as I felt on my stay. Steve and Elaine put in a great effort to make sure that we were comfortable and welcome. We were given directions to the cottage and when we arrived we were greeted with a welcome hamper of home made cakes and scones and a lovely bottle of wine. The cottage was well equipped and furnished to a high standard. We loved it. I am considering going back for another break. I had a good relaxing time and I felt that I recharged my batteries and it was what I needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Gail & Kevin So glad that you had such a great time at Stable Cottage and that we were able to fulfil your expectations. We find living in the hamlet of Wardhall a really relaxing experience and are really glad that you were able to share the sense of peace and tranquillity here. We would love for you to come again and hope to see you again in the future. Thankyou for the chocolates which were much appreciated! Best wishes Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny T
1 review
“Excellent and enjoyable!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the cottage.
Steve was so helpful - very friendly welcome and we arrived to homemade goodies and other treats which was a really lovely touch and much appreciated!
Cottage was very clean and lovely! Bed was really comfy. We only stayed 2 nights but had everything we could possibly need at the cottage.
Information book was really useful as well.
Very different to usual Lake District locations - very quiet - locals very friendly - great for walking!
We found the cottage really easy to find!
Overall - can't find anything negative to say about the cottage or area! We had a perfect weekend and would be happy to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Hi Jenny. We really appreciate the nice things you have said about Stable Cottage and are so glad that you both had such a lovely time.We hope to see you again in Wardhall in the not too distant future. With kindest regards - Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Gorgeous"”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment we arrived it was perfect. Welcome hamper was a real treat!!! Steve was very welcoming and had lovely scenic views!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Rachel - Thank you so much for your kind review. A pleasure to have you to stay at Stable Cottage and hope to see you again in the future Best wishes Steve & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hortonsaw...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an amazing stay at Stable Cottage. Surrounded by beutiful countryside, this quaint and gorgeous cottage had everthing we needed and more. The owners Steve and Elaine were brilliant hosts, and made us feel very welcome. We were thrilled with our welcome surprise of some homemade scones, bread, marmalade, some local cheese and a chilled bottle of white in the fridge. The cottage is in a small hamlet, which provided us with idyllic peace and quiet, but we were only a short drive away from the amazing beach at Allonby, and also only a drive away from the lakes. A hidden treasure in a gorgeous part of the country. We only wish we had stayed longer, and will definitely be back in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its quirkiness and tranquility of location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Dear Audrey & Charlie

Many many thanks for your glowing review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay at Stable Cottage and are so glad that you had a wonderful time and found a window of peace and tranquility from your busy lives in Glasgow. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in Wardhall. Best wishes Steve & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing