We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff but book direct and be clear on what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but book direct and be clear on what you expect”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Plus points
Lovely staff,Nice manageress very Available, Nice building,Great Location,Good Breakfasts,Nice fireside bar.

I loved our stay in Cockermouth


Negatives
Very noisy room (fans from restaurant act like a megaphone) Old decor (not charming old fashioned/just old),No bar snacks or food-restaurant only.Put us in an old twin bed room because didn't get external booking info-not good on 1st wedding Anniversary. Was advertised as Dog friendly but with the noise,and no bar food it wasn't ideal for our Puppy (she never slept) They allow dogs but they aren't catered for although the owner loves them. Plenty of local places do food and cater for dogs.

Will definitely rent a cottage next time -Allerdale would be fab for just an overnight stay but not a romantic break at all xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and don't book externally
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    87
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
130
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights for my boyfriend's birthday and a little pre-schristmas trip and it was lovely. cockermouth's christmas lights are very pretty. we took our yorkshire terrier and were greeted with mince pie and mulled wine when we arrived, which we were too tired to have but it was lovely all the same. We rarely eat in the hotels we stay in as we like to try local resturants but the bistro there was lovely, we had some drinks in the lounge until we were ready to eat. we had fleetwood fish pie and stirloin steak (not together) and they were both fab meals. the staff were very friendly. the parking was just opposite and there was always enough space to load and unload and we only paid £5 for parkign and were friday evening to sun afternoon. we stayed in room 2004 which has a four poster bed which was very comfy and was a very nice room. would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in cockermouth. great value too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I went there because I was working for a solar energy project at the auction hall and found for me and my colleagues this very coosy hotel, English as in the movies with nice staff and a good restaurant (Wednesday is steak night!) Rooms are large, with nice fornitures (there like small living rooms) and warm. Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel and fast. They have also have a bar with a large selction of whiskey and liquors. Sticky Toffee Pudding is a must.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for a night at the Allerdale court for a family wedding. The young lady on the reception was friendly and helpul and took us to our room (207). The room was on the top floor of the hotel and was huge... including sitting room with fireplace (not working and large bathroom. Following the floods the Allerdale court have spent time and money refurbishing the ground floor and have done a wonderful job. This has however meant that some of the upper floor rooms look a little shabby with holes in the carpets and peeling wallpaper. hopefully the wonderful renovations will continue through the rest of the hotel in time.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of both hot and cold food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeleeKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was greeted with a genuine welcome, and then came the fabulous room with 4-poster bed and chesterfield leather chair. You can do nothing but relax in this place. The food on the menu also brought some unexpected surprises, I can heartily recommend the melt-in-the-mouth black pudding layered with hot sliced apple starter (unless you are vegetarian). I only came to Cockermouth on a brief business trip, and would not have thought of it as a place to stay above the range of choices around the Lake District, but this is a gem well worth considering as a base for sightseeing as well as business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
38.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.0 km away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): $141 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing