We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was greeted with a genuine welcome, and then came the fabulous room with 4-poster bed and chesterfield leather chair. You can do nothing but relax in this place. The food on the menu also brought some unexpected surprises, I can heartily recommend the melt-in-the-mouth black pudding layered with hot sliced apple starter (unless you are vegetarian). I only came to Cockermouth on a brief business trip, and would not have thought of it as a place to stay above the range of choices around the Lake District, but this is a gem well worth considering as a base for sightseeing as well as business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    87
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
130
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We usually stay at the Trout when we’re in Cockermouth, but on this visit they were full (on a non-descript Thursday night in October ?). They said they were more corporate these days and often were. So we took our lowly non corporate selves down the Allerdale Court instead, and we were very glad we did.
What a terrific hotel! The service is friendly and personable like a guest house but in a big old town centre hotel. And old it is – our room at the front was like stepping back into Georgian times: terrific raised four poster bed and exposed beams all over the place. Brilliant! This place just oozes character, but is clean and comfortable all the same.
When we arrived the receptionist insisted on bringing the two lattes (proper ones by the way) we ordered to our room so we could get settled, and the breakfast was excellent (great sausage...to be expected round these parts tho’).
We certainly shan’t bother with the Trout again – compared to the Allerdale it is overpriced and bland. Only thing to mention is, there is no car park – but there are plenty within spitting distance and free if you arrive at the right time.
To conclude: great value and highly recommended.... whether you be corporate or not.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I recently stayed with 5 of my friends at the Allerdale Court Hotel in Cockermouth. The hotel is located right in the centre of the quiet Market town of Cockermouth. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The full Cumbrian breakfast fantastic, poached eggs perfect. The rooms whilst small are clean and very comfortable

A great place for a break, Cockermouth is a little gem of a town and well worth a long week visit with access to the Northern Lakes and Cumbrian coast

Thanks and kind regards Peter Mingins

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I chose once again to stay at this hotel which had continued with it update and was looking really good. We had booked last minute and did not hold too much hope for rooms but we had a large room which was more like a junior suite with lots of space and two easy chairs and large TV. The hotel was quiet as we were at the back of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and really comfortable with lovely Egyptian cotton bedding and lots of pillows and cushions. We went to visit the festival which was great and it was really handy to be in the town so that we could pop back and forth. The hotel had lots of tables outside for the festivities and we partook of excellent lamb burgers on mint and coriander naans washed down with top notch mojitas. Breakfast on Sunday was second to none and we took our time and enjoyed extra coffee and toast and nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. I have returned to this hotel not to be disappointed and I hope to return again to support this busy market town that should be very proud of its recovery following the floods. Keep it up Cockermouth.

Room Tip: we were in room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_hixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Having recently stayed at the Allerdale Court Hotel with my husband for the Taste of Cumbria Festival, we have found a Cumbrian Treasure. This Hotel is situated perfectly to explore this quaint town with unique boutiques. The Hairy Biker window display was fabulous and drew many admirers including the Hairy Bikers themselves, much to our delight!
We received a very warm welcome and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for the members of Allerdale Court staff.
Our room was spacious, stylishly decorated and spotless.
I can definately recommend the famous Cumbrian breakfast, a feast no less. Oh and the cocktails later in the day were very welcome...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
38.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): $142 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing