We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An exceptional place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house View from all rooms in Brunt House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house
View from all rooms in Brunt House
Brunt House
Stunning Views!
Lovely gardens
Brunt House
Kitchen/Dining Room
Dining Table
The dining room
The Grand Drawing Room
Cosy Log Fire
Relax in the Italian leather sofas
The Library
Three bedroom suites
Bedroom views
Bath robes included
All en-suite luxury bathrooms
Soak in one of the cast iron roll-top bath tubs
Master bedroom suite
Views from the Master Bedroom
Anyone for chess - or a PS4 game?
Table football/foosball
Penthouse bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosanna K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An exceptional place to stay ”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from our stay at Brunt House to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday- all I can say is WOW.
The house is furnished and finished to the highest quality and the standards exceed anything I ever expected. So much thought and effort has been put into making sure this place is a special place to stay and we felt at home from the second we walked through the front door. The house is in an ideal location- tucked away from the main road but still close to the town and beautiful scenic walks.
This was a doubly special trip for us as it was our baby boy's first holiday (3 weeks old) so we have some very special memories to last a lifetime now!
We will definitely be returning to Brunt House and I would recommend this beautiful house to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review of Brunt House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the event of your father's 60th birthday.

Best wishes,
Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al1Stockt...
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Even Better This Time”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a return visit to Brunt House and booked a weekend before the nights became too dark. Last time we were affected by the first flooding that the Lake District suffered last year and we were caught unawares with closed roads and so on.
We had another lovely weekend here and, being a bit earlier in the year, the weather was better so we managed to enjoy the surrounding countryside straight from the door.
It is quite expensive to book but the quality compares very favourably to local luxury hotels and when it is viewed in those terms then it does seem much more reasonable! Also, it has lots of added extras that a hotel can't offer, extra space and so on.
This really is a beautiful holiday home and if we have the chance we will return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like staying in a luxury hotel but with he benefits of a home.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineA...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brunt House will exceed your expectations”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I am not going to repeat what all the other reviewers have said because it's all true,instead I thought I might expand on a few details of the accommodation.
My party consisted of family, but this is a great house to share with friends because it offers amazing entertaining space but even better, if offers privacy.
There are three bedrooms at Brunt House . How many times have we rented a property where we have to draw lots to see who is getting the master bedroom? Yes, we have all been there, someone inevitably gets the short straw. This is NOT the case at Brunt House. All bedrooms have the exact same facilities, three master suites, with all bathrooms having freestanding baths and walk in showers. No one would feel short changed.
The house is split into three dwellings, Brunt House being the major part of the house, with the front door and the grand staircase. The most georgous pale cream wool carpet has been laid up the staircase and throughout the upper floors. Rightly so, there is a little sign that asks you to remove your outdoor shoes, but in doing this you can truly feel the luxurious quality beneath you feet.
This is a house which makes you feel immediately at home, it's stylish but comfy, spacious yet at the same time private. This house is just enough off the beaten track to feel that you are away from it all, yet in minutes you are in the lovely village of Ambleside.
Finally, I would just like to add that the house was booked with great ease and efficiency with no need to engage in conversation with the owner. Again while we were there we had no reason to be in contact with the owner because every need had been anticipated. Everything had been thought of, explained , and a few extras just for good measure. The whole set up is very impressive, so now that I am home, I am finally going to engage in conversation with the owners, because they deserve very high praise indeed. Thanks for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you Caroline for a very detailed review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Brunt House. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Kennedy...
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for somewhere special, this is it!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I booked this beautiful house as a surprise for my husband’s 40th. I wanted somewhere special and private but close enough to walk/drive to local places. After a very extensive search I found Brunt House and new this was the perfect place for us. It ticked all the boxes and then some. This house has a wonderful feel about it, you can see that it has been lovingly restored, with high end finish throughout. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly think of and need. We loved our stay at Brunt House so much that we are going to make this an annual must and have booked our stay for next year already.

I would like to thank Christopher and Gaynor for sharing this spectacular House with us and making my Husbands Birthday so special, but also for all their assistance with my queries at the time of booking they couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Ella, thank you very much for your review, and for booking again next year.

Christopher & Gaynor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilfree
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking....! ”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting the lakes for the last 10 years as a family and have stayed in various accommodation from self catering to luxury hotels. However, we can say that Brunt House is without question the best property we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. We stayed for the May half term week 2016, with my parents and our 7 year old daughter. The property itself is simply stunning and beautifully appointed, there is everything you could ever need to enjoy a relaxing and luxurious break.
The property itself is imposing, beautifully converted, enhancing the many retained features with modern style. Every item of furniture and appliance of the highest quality. Outside the property's elevated position provides amazing views of the fells. We ate outside every evening to make the most of those views.
Christopher and Gaynor own the property, and it is clear that they have a passion and commitment to the house which shows in the work undertaken to convert the property. They were always approachable and accommodating, nothing appeared too much trouble. The attention to detail shown in converting the property is evident in their desire to see you have a memorable visit, from the fantastic welcome gifts to the recommendations and information provided for your stay. In short we cannot recommend Brunt House highly enough, and have booked again for next year! Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing