We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Anita and Peter really know how to do "Holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
Coach House Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance Coach House Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance
Coach House Lounge
Master Bedroom Mirror
Master King Bed
Lounge Lighting
Master Bedroom Ceiling Fan
Cottage front
Coach House View
Bedroom 2
Bathroom Shower
Bathroom Vanity
Brunch
Afternoon Tea
For That Special Occasion
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peterspea...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anita and Peter really know how to do "Holiday Cottages"”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just home from a wonderful week in the Lakes. Have stayed in self catering cottages 2/3 times a year for the last 20 Odd years. Most will understand when I sum this one up with the statement ' If OLD COACH HOUSE MADE BEER IT WOULD PROBABLY BE THE BEST BEER IN THE WORLD ' fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is so comfortable and classy without pretention
Liked least: Going out it was so worth staying in.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Hi, thank you, that is the best description of our cottage yet! We couldn't have done any better, so glad you enjoyed our fab little place.
Anita & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoAndyGo
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Quality accommodation! After a few years camping we decided to go back under a solid roof and The Old Coach House didn't disappoint! We are a family with two boys 11 & 14 and found the cottage and it's location to be perfect. The cottage is finished to an extremely high standard and the layout and facilities are excellent. Everything a family such as ours would need and more. The location within Ambleside and the Lake District in general is great; everything is within easy reach.
Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Hi, Thankyou for your kind comments and glad that your young ones enjoyed it too. We wanted to create a luxury feel which is what we would like to receive if we were booking a cottage, I reckon we did a fairly good job from the response we are getting from all our guests. We love the area and of course the convenient locality of our Old Coach House, not too far to walk to the great restaurants Ambleside has to offer. We hope very much to see you again.
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came here with our recently widowed friend and have had a lovely week. The whole cottage has been so well done We cannot find any fault with it. The attention to detail is amazing and the whole is very well put together. We have had a wonderful week and would thoroughly recommend this lovely holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and general presentation
Liked least: No recycling
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thankyou for your kind comments, we love our cottage and so glad you did too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Carl M
1 review
“1 old coach house ambleside”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Property was exactly as advertised and amenities in general were excellent.
Would like to have seen a few more mugs for tea and coffee.
Property was extremely clean and well equipped, apart from comment above.
I would definitely recommend the property to others. Good location, within easy reach of shops and locally wonderful scenery and fresh air.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and general amenities available in the property
Liked least: being next to main road - traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Thankyou, your kind comments are valuable to us, we welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangesqu...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Superior accommodation in a brilliant location.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is modern, luxurious, faultlessly clean and in a superb location for local amenities and day trips slightly further afield.

I am not one to take the time to write reviews normally but we really felt this holiday accommodation certainly warranted it. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Thanks for taking the time out to write your excellent review
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Ambleside
Pete and Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing