We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property in excellent location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Clare Cottage

Living room/diner with log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room/diner with log burning stove
Living room/diner with log burning stove Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living room/diner with log burning stove
Living room/diner with log burning stove
Dining Area
Kitchen
!st floor double bedroom
Family bathroom
2nd floor double with en suite & stunning views
En Suite
2nd Floor Twin bedroom
2nd Floor Twin bedroom
Views from top floor bedroom to rear
Views across Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FIHLMH
Kirk Michael
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in excellent location.”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Clare Cottage is in centre of Ambleside, ideal for sight seeing, walking and shopping. Plenty of pubs, restaurants and tea shops within walking distance. Can recommend Sheila's for excellent food and try the cakes from the bakery just up the road. We enjoyed a couple of nights in, the kitchen had everything we needed. Loved the heated floors! Our friends from Australia loved the stone work and the views from the bedrooms. We were lucky enough to see the filming of Peter Rabbit, a bonus! Highly recommend and would love to return, the cottage was spotless.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xejs
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Such a excellently located house and was really easy to organise via Jacqui. The house itself was extremely clean and tidy and couldn't recommend it more highly. It has obviously been recently renovated to a very high standard and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I will definitely be back to stay in Clare Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
What a lovely review, many thanks. Hope to welcome you back soon. Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanwill...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in the centre of Ambleside”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was a weekend family birthday celebration and we had a fantastic time. This cottage is in the heart of the Lake District right in the centre of Ambleside with restaurants, pubs and shops right on the doorstep. It was clean, comfortable and spacious with everything you could possibly need. There was underfloor heating in the kitchen and one of the bathrooms which was wonderful ! Parking was a fit of an issue because between us we had 3 cars but we managed. We would certainly stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. Hope to welcome you back soon. Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. Hope to see you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judu2015
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A cosy cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Clare Cottage was all we expected and more, spacious yet cosy, comfortable beds, plenty of kitchen utensils etc for self catering, although the cottage is located in the centre of Ambleside so pubs and restaurants are easily reached. Car parking was a bit of an issue but not enough to really bother about. Had an excellent meal at The Priest Hole, definitely worth a visit. Would love to go back to Clare Cottage in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing