We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Whinfell Tarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Whinfell Tarn
Whinfell Tarn showing space parking next to cabin Whinfell Tarns 1st Decking Area with outdoor furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Welcome to Whinfell Tarn
Whinfell Tarn showing space parking next to cabin
Whinfell Tarns 1st Decking Area with outdoor furniture
Whinfell Tarns 2nd Decking Area also has outdoor furniture
Another view of 2nd Decking
Lounge has comfortable leather sofas
Whinfell Tars fitted Kitchen includes Fan Oven, Ceramic Hob, Fridge, Freezer, Toaster etc
Whinfell Tarns Twin Bedroom
Family size pool available free to use by all Whinfell Tarn guests
Wray Castle  is located close by
Lake Windermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AlpacaPil...
Somerset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Lakes and first holiday with our dog. After a rather hellish journey from the other end of the country we found the cabin so cosy and welcoming. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The location of the cabin at the top of the site means it is incredibly peaceful and you have the advantage of dog walks straight from the door. Whinfell Tarn is ideally situated for visiting so many beautiful places within easy driving or walking distance. We had two fantastic weeks - one wet and one sunny - and were extremely sad to leave. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Slight damp smell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Good to hear you had a good second week with the weather.
You would be extremely welcome for a return visit to any of our cabins. Thank you for leaving the cabin as you found it.

Best wishes Pete & Ann Bosworth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Two bedroomed chalet/cabin set in rural woodland about 10-15 minutes drive from Ambleside. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean chalet and well equipped with everything that you could possibly need including microwave, freezer, iron and board and hair drier.
Situated on a small site of similar cabins this one probably has one of the best positions at the top of the site so no noise from other visitors and almost direct access to some lovely walks
Travelled with my husband and two small dogs and cabin size was ideal although there is a twin bedded room this would be ideal for two children although cabin may be a bit small for four adults.
The area is of outstanding beauty with lovely places to visit nearby and some lovely walks but is also centrally located to get around to most other areas in the Lake District.
There are no amenities on site other than laundry and family pool, which we didn't use, so if you want 'entertainment ' go to Centre Parcs but if like us you want somewhere clean, comfortable and peaceful in a beautiful area near the Langdale Valley you will love it. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indieclev...
england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first holiday with our rescue dog,we stayed a week in this lovely cabin a home from home and very clean.It has every thing you need for your holidays, the scenery is beautiful it's in a peaceful setting with lots of wild life around to watch.Our little dog enjoyed our long walks and pub lunches. Will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect family break”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first break away together as a new family of 4 and we could not have wished for anything more. We had a fantastic week. The log cabin is perfect with plenty of space for the 4 of us, very clean and well equipped! The swimming pool is lovely, just 2 minutes from the cabin and was often empty meaning we had the pool to ourselves. The shop on site had a really lovely helpful lady. We walked to ambleside, grasmere and chapel stile while we were there with our pram and all the walks were really nice, particularly the walk to ambleside! There is a girgeous river path at skelwith bridge to the wainwright bar which is a must for the food! Skelwith bridge has the talbot bar which is 5 minutes from the cabin and also has friendly staff and lovely food. We would definitely recommend this cabin for families and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the swimming pool
Liked least: not having another week
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal location, for walking, sight seeing and for a base to see the Lake District. The log cabin was clean, comfortable, a good night sleep in very good beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not long enough time there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing