We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable and friendly”
Review of Lakes Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakes Lodge
Ranked #19 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

On our visit (for a recent combination of business and pleasure), the Lakes Lodge was very comfortable, providing a warm welcome, a comfortable and very civilised room, and a hearty breakfast. The happy and engaging staff were extremely helpful and friendly without being in any way obtrusive or overbearing. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Lakes Lodge is a great base whether it is a visit for pleasure or business or like yourselves combining both, we are pleased that you found it to be comfortable and welcoming and maybe next time you can come and stay just for a holiday!!

Keep an eye on our website for all our latest offers.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 438 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a lovely weekend stay, our first time in Lakes Lodge. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the buffet breakfast was plentiful & very good quality. The room was spacious and very clean, and in an excellent location for the centre of Ambleside.

We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will have less traffic noise, but it doesn't matter too much because there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Your first time at Lakes Lodge and hopefully not your last!! It sounds like you had a great time maybe come and see us when a local event is on like Ambleside Sports on the 26th July a fantastic day out, look on our website for all our best offers.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Had a lovely 2 night stay starting on March 30th 2012. Hotel was fantastic with a great location. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room was clean, and the breakfast? Wow. Eat as much as you like, glad of the amazing walks on the doorstep to walk it off.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

We are delighted that you had an excellent break with us and that you found Lakes Lodge to be fantastic enjoying the 'all you can eat breakfast'.

We will pass on your great comments to Cath and her team and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future look out on our website for our best possible rates.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at Lakes Lodge for a long weekend break, our first time in the Lake District. The room was great and the bathroom had a big bath to relax in. The breakfast was fantastic and lots of it. The staff were amazing, very friendly and extremely helpful!! Cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

It sounds like you had an amazing' first visit' to Ambleside and Lakes Lodge lived upto your expectation we are so pleased and it is great to get such positive feed back, thankyou.

When you come and visit us again maybe enjoy one of the local events at the same time like Ambleside Sports day on the 26th July a fantastic day out with traditional local sports like Cumberland wrestling!! keep and eye on our website for the best possible rates.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Lakes Lodge for a two night late Valentines break near the end of March. The room we were in (number 2) was spacious with a very comfortable bed, the bathroom was well equipped and also had a bath which was great for a soak after a long days walking! We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. All in all a lovely break and we would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

It's great that you had a fantastic break with us at Lakes Lodge enjoying the location and all the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, don't forget keep and eye on our web site for the best rates!!

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
5.2 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
578 reviews
0.3 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
1 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 102 in Ambleside
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $112 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakes Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge offers modern facilities usually found only in larger hotels but in a relaxed atmosphere, the best of both worlds! Unlike many smaller hotels the hotel is licensed and offer a wine and beer room service throughout the day. Ice and ice buckets are installed for your convenience and for you to help yourself to. The town house is just 200 metres away from the shops and other local amenities within the heart of Ambleside.All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and in addition to all modern facilities the hotel has installed DVD players in all rooms. A selection of films are available from reception. Family rooms consist of a double and a single bed.Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room where you can help yourself to continental and full english breakfast. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.Lakes Lodge is situated only two minutes away from the centre of Ambleside with its shops, bars and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to Lake Windermere and the boating jetties.Just a short walk takes you to Waterhead Bay and the Lake Steamers which take you to Bowness and Lakeside with a chance to explore in greater detail. Ambleside is a perfect starting point for mountain biking, walking or just a complete break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Hotel Ambleside
Lakes Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing