We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully Furnished Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The sitting/dining room.
The bedroom and through to the bathroom.
Kitchen with built in dishwasher and fridge.
The sitting/dining room.
An outside view of Buttermere.
The view from the sitting room window.
The bedroom and through to the sitting room.
The bathroom. Bath with shower over.
The view from the sitting room window.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmmaG986
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautifully Furnished Apartment”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 3 night break at Buttermere apartment for our honeymoon. The apartment was beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and very comfortable. The location was great and only a few minutes walk from Ambleside centre. Lots of really nice touches including milk, coffee, hot chocolate etc left for us. We would definitely recommend this accommodation and hope to return in the near future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellhouse...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to stay in Ambleside”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The apartment was superb in so many ways, it provided a warm and cosy place to relax and enjoy. The owners clearly care about their customers and the special little touches only add to the perfection.
A place we will book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling...
Berkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All you need in Ambleside”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Buttermere Apartment in Ambleside looked lovely on the website and didn't disappoint.
Furnishings and fittings were superb and there was every thing we needed for a comfortable stay.
Ambleside itself is a lovely town, ideally situated for exploring the Lake District while being a little removed from the tourist honeypots. If you don't want to prepare your own meals in the well equipped apartment kitchen , there are numerous pubs and restaurants in the town.
We will certainly stay there again if we revisit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartment, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay in this apartment with a very high standard of accomodation. Just minutes walk from Ambleside town centre which is lovely and has everything you need. The owners are very friendly and helpful and provided very good directions and access instructions. A couple of thoughtful touches with the accomodation made us feel very welcome. We will be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Struck lucky!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

When I booked the Buttermere Apartment in Ambleside its description read very well. When we first entered the apartment we were blown away by how beautiful it was, It has to be by far the best rental we have ever rented across the UK in over 20 years. It was extremely well appointed, immaculately clean, and ample's of space for all the food, clothes etc. you take with you. The bathroom is an outstanding feature within the apartment. Very big, with options of a bath or shower. Considering the weekly cost, we struck lucky. We will certainly be using the renting the apartment again, and would highly recommend it to all our friends. If I had to change anything about the apartment I would use slightly brighter bulbs in the lounge. A very minor point when considering how beautiful the apartment is all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout, cleanliness and how well appointed the apartment is.
Liked least: The king size bed and very big bathroom.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing