We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“CUTE VILLA AMIDST THE CUTE VILLAGE !!”

Review of Birch End

Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Lawn and drive area Adjoining enclosed woodland play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Welcome!
Lawn and drive area
Adjoining enclosed woodland play area
View towards Fairfield
Lounge
Dining area
Hearth & TV
Double bedroom upstairs
Twin bedroom upstairs
Twin bedroom wash basin & landing
Hall
Sigle bedroom downstairs
Double bedroom downstairs
Sunny patio with furniture & view
Private parking space for 3 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sripriya...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“CUTE VILLA AMIDST THE CUTE VILLAGE !!”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well.. all i can say is we really had a blast. Ambleside by itself is very very pretty and to top that we found Birch End. Its really great value for money and also very comfortable. It was home like. Wish we had stayed longer. The house has everything a traveller needs. Peter is a kind person. He visited us and ensured everything was in place. Also, he helped us resolve some small issue at late hours in the night. Thank you Peter.
Good Villa, Suits Budget, Beautiful Surroundings !!...go for it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncmc
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Comfortable house, great location”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stay in Birch End in Ambleside, we stay every year in Keswick but this year decided to add a few days to our trip and move to Ambleside. We found that properties in Ambleside were either very expensive, or didn’t offer stays of less than a week. So were delighted to find such a good value property in such a great location. We were travelling with our baby and my parents so the configuration of rooms worked out well for us. There is a good size double and a single downstairs and a lovely modern bathroom, then a twin and another good size double upstairs. All the rooms have sinks, there is a second toilet upstairs, but it’s not for the claustrophobic as it has been wedged into a closet in the eves, but still, it is a good use of space! The living room is large and bright, with a good sized dining area and a small, modern kitchen. The views from the living room are fantastic, with views towards Fairfield Circle and the church. The property has a lovely secure garden which seems to be a haven of wildlife, my daughter loved it. There is also parking right outside the door. The décor is a bit dated, especially in the bedrooms, but it is very comfortable at the same time and has an up to date smart TV. The upstairs bedrooms had velux windows with the most fantastic blinds, ensuring a pitch black room at night and a good nights sleep. While the bathroom is very clean and modern, the shower is sadly lacking water pressure. An electric shower would be a welcome addition.

The location of this house is fantastic. Ambleside is a very busy town with constant traffic, but because this house is at the end of a cul de sac, you feel like you’re in the middle of the country despite being only 5 mins walk from the town. This property can’t be beat for location, price and cleanliness, I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable living room with amazing views
Liked least: Shower was lacking water pressure and upstairs loo was a bit claustrophic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thanks, glad Birch End is liked.
Peter Bradley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniegsta...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit retro but warm and cheap”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have come here now twice in February. It was warm and cosy. Local Chinese and chippy excellent. It is a bit basic but suited our needs .
Will book again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheap and cheerful
Liked least: You could have left us one more toilet roll for the weekend!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpandAbou...
Colnbrook, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had a lovely first visit to Ambleside and was very impressed with this comfortable bungalow. It was very well equiped and clean. The heating was even timed to come on making it very homely and cosy when we got home in the afternoons. It was only a few minutes walk to the main centre of Ambleside. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and good location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spacious, well equipped”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, spacious , well equipped dormer bungalow with fantastic views especially from the large lounge window,
We stayed with our two children so the upstairs was ideal for us sharing the twin and double, The downstairs bathroom and bedrooms were ideal for my elderly parents (with limited mobility) and sister. There are sinks in all of the bedrooms. The house is large enough to be able to spend time together in the large open plan lounge diner kitchen area or take some quiet time away from the others in either the bedrooms or the beautiful garden. There is also a large woodland area which is part of the property which we did not use this time but in the past has been a ideal place for our Easter egg hunt!
Location is in the centre of Ambleside but just off the main road so there was only a slight traffic noise compared to some properties in Ambleside.
We went on lovely walks and visited , Brockhole. Grisedale Forest, Keswick. Bowness and walked to Rydal (very flat walk with lovely pub at end! The children enjoyed the climbing wall in Ambleside which was just around the corner. Climbing is supervised by instructors and parents can enjoy a snack in the café while you watch, Also enjoyed the crazy golf (again just around the corner) and the local park was only a few minutes walk for a game of football at the end of the day.
The only negative comment I received from my 11 and 13 year old before we went was "WHAT NO WIFI!" but once they were there they didn't even mention it, there was so much to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing