We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend getaway from the world!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Magnificent fireplace in the lounge for those cosy nights
Downstairs double bedroom en suite
Downstairs en suite
WELCOME
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah_El...
1 review
“Fabulous weekend getaway from the world!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a lovely weekend in halfway house as a surprise for my mums birthday! The cottage was cosy and warm on our arrival and everything was better than expected! Even the dogs loved it too! Thanks Liz for a thorough enjoyable stay, we wish we had booked it for longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feast58
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idylic halfway house”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just spent three nights at Halfway House and we have enjoyed our stay very much. The house when we arrived was clean and welcoming and had everything needed to self cater for a family. Unfortunately the weather was a little unsettled but we did manage to have breakfast on the lovely decking area on our last morning. There was plenty of hot water for showers and the central heating had been set to come on in the morning so nice and cosy for our little one year old. Would definitely book again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great but so much more potential”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are so many things to love about this place, quiet location beautiful surroundings, practical space but (there is always a but) just a few little things would make it special such as fixing the shower screen so the floor doesn't flood, having at least hand soap or something for people to use or even a hand towel? when the cleaner turned up at 7am on a Sunday saying she had a right to be there cleaning I politely suggested she return at 9.30, unfortunately this left the wrong feeling overall.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that you thought halfway house was a beautiful cottage . I am sorry to hear you had a few minor problems which we will of course look into .I can only appologise about the cleaning firm this isn't normal practice departure is by 10.00am and my usual housekeeper is lovely and has a good rapport with guests . I will mention it to the cleaning company .many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joseph541...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage is perfect for a holiday in the lakes, fully equipped (Wi-Fi would be a bonus, but not essential) The view from the rear patio is fantastic, we watched the barn owl hunting every evening. Will be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: access from the road into the drive, bit tricky at busy times of day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailk1
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic would have loved to stay longer”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Good accommodation in a fantastic location. The garden areas boast a shared but private fishing pond which my children loved and spent hours quietly remarking at nature. Perfectly positioned for easy access to Ambleside and great walks from the front door. Definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing