We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backpackers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside Backpackers
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I have just returned from a weekend's stay here for a charity walk with 19 of my friends/colleagues. From booking with David @ Ambleside Backpackers right through to the end of our stay everything was really easy, pleasant and comfortable. The hostel was clean, the rooms were comfy and great value for money. There's a really relaxed and homely atmosphere. I'd definitely stay again.
Thank you David and Cherry for answering my endless questions and all your help with our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermacwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with 7 friend's as a base for bight charity walk. Accommodation was just what we needed and all clean. Kitchen facilities were great and staff very helpful. We used the well equipped kitchen and brews were on tap. The lounge was great to relax in and any issues like teabags running out were sorted very promptly. 5 mins walk from town and plenty of parking nearby..Thanks for a great base to explore

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Just returned having spent 2 nights here with a group of friends, whilst we tackled the Fairfield Horseshoe.
Hostel is in a great location, within walking distance to town centre & amenities.
Bunk room, shower block, loos & kitchen are kept very clean.
The provided breakfast of toast, cereal, tea & coffee is adequate. You can also use the kitchen to cook yourselves a hot breakfast.
I found the residents to be respectful of each other, which is important where sleep quality can be an issue.
Would stay there again in a shot.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank flyh1gh821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

It was a great place for a weekend away with a friend visiting the lakes. The rooms were clean and warm as were the facilities. The breakfast option was sufficient to fill you up for a day in the hills and you could always use the self-serving facilities at the kitchen. The lounge was lovely to relax in the evening and a dry room a good addition even for a sunny weekend!
David and Cherry were friendly and welcoming! Many thanks for helping us have a great weekend in Ambleside!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Its an okay place for one night. Toast and tea are provided, though rules are quite strict (not allowed to bring cups of tea into the room etc). It's in a convenient location, and close to the town which is great for fish and chips! I stayed here with a group of friends before heading off to camp in the Lake District. Clean, reasonably quiet (though a lot of groups). Friendly owners.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
508 reviews
0.6 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#9 of 23 in Hawkshead
355 reviews
0.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,765 reviews
5.3 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Backpackers

Address: Iveing Cottage Old Lake Road | Iveing Cottage, Ambleside LA22 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ambleside Backpackers Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing