We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 211
USD 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
USD 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 145
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
YHA Ambleside(Ambleside)(Great Value!)
USD 38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
USD 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterhead Hotel(Ambleside)
USD 230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion Inn(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
55
24
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
24
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Just returned having spent 2 nights here with a group of friends, whilst we tackled the Fairfield Horseshoe.
Hostel is in a great location, within walking distance to town centre & amenities.
Bunk room, shower block, loos & kitchen are kept very clean.
The provided breakfast of toast, cereal, tea & coffee is adequate. You can also use the kitchen to cook yourselves a hot breakfast.
I found the residents to be respectful of each other, which is important where sleep quality can be an issue.
Would stay there again in a shot.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank flyh1gh821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

It was a great place for a weekend away with a friend visiting the lakes. The rooms were clean and warm as were the facilities. The breakfast option was sufficient to fill you up for a day in the hills and you could always use the self-serving facilities at the kitchen. The lounge was lovely to relax in the evening and a dry room a good addition even for a sunny weekend!
David and Cherry were friendly and welcoming! Many thanks for helping us have a great weekend in Ambleside!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Its an okay place for one night. Toast and tea are provided, though rules are quite strict (not allowed to bring cups of tea into the room etc). It's in a convenient location, and close to the town which is great for fish and chips! I stayed here with a group of friends before heading off to camp in the Lake District. Clean, reasonably quiet (though a lot of groups). Friendly owners.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Loved being here on September 14 and 15 in 1991. I had a bunk room all to myself, and was treated to a scrumptious breakfast each morning. The manager was a very pleasant man who waited for me to arrive as I was late coming to Ambleside and was having a hard time finding accommodation. He came to my rescue! I paid 11.70 Pounds per night in that year, and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drewbie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for 5 nights as a group of 3 friends on an activities holiday. We just wanted somewhere basic to use as a base for walking/biking around the lakes.

The hostel was clean, comfortable and extremely well situated just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside.

The hostel was pretty quiet when we were there, with just a handful of other people staying. The three of us actually had a 10 bed dorm to ourselves which was nice.

The showers were hot and powerful, some other reviews have complained about there not being enough showers and having to wait to use them - this wasn't an issue for us due to the hostel being so quiet, but I can see how this would be a problem during busy periods.

There were two male toilets on our floor, these were clean but there was no door separating the cubicles from the corridor (just the cubicle doors), essentially rendering the toilet cubicle on the corridor somewhat leaving privacy a thing to be desired.

Downstairs you have a lounge, dining area, good sized kitchen and dry room. As stated in the description, a light breakfast is included in the price. The breakfast was nice enough, giving you a choice of cereals, toast, tea coffee and a selection of jams.

The lounge is comfortable with plenty of seating and lighting. A small TV would be a nice addition, however the owners have made it clear in other comments that they won't be getting one, and to be fair we were kept entertained in the evenings with a wide selection of board games.

There is a 1AM curfew which was fine as we were never out past 1 anyway, however there is also a rule that you cannot be in the hostel between the hours of 10:30 and 14:30. The owners are strict on this and it was probably our only real negative point as there were a couple of days where this became quite an inconvenience, as it would have been useful to be able to return to the hostel in the afternoon for a quick shower and change of clothes following mountain biking or ghyll scrambling.

Other than this minor inconvenience our experience at this hostel was a comfortable and pleasant one. The staff are friendly and you get all your basic amenities which is all anybody can expect for low hostel prices.

We would return and stay in this hostel again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iveing, Owner at Ambleside Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Yep, thats what we think too, thanks, see you soon we hope.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews