We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base for a trip to the Lakes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
87 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Cosy lounge.
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter B
2 reviews
“A great base for a trip to the Lakes”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a great place to stay on our first trip to Ambleside, with access to walks in all directions - we came without our own transport but there are great routes of many difficulties close by. The location is great - access was by a moderately steep hill 5 minutes from the main bus stops in the town centre.

The cottage is compact and a perfect size for two of us to stay (there is certainly room for four, but not much spare space if so). A new boiler had been recently installed and we had been warned of possible teething problems with hot water, but everything worked absolutely fine. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay was provided. We would happily recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
I glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be back. We having a new bathroom fitted in November too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan M
1 review
“Beautiful cosy and comfortable cottage located within easy walking distance to Ambleside.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a beautiful cosy and comfortable cottage throughtout. There was good literature to help with planning days out, whether it be walking, eating or drinking. The enclosed garden was beautiful and a little sun trap. All requirements for cooking were provided and the beds were extra comfy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
"I glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be back soon to take advantage of the 5% discount. We're having a new bathroom fitted in November too."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in perfect setting for walking with out needing the car”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An enjoyable stay in this cosy cottage 4 adults , Jenny was very good at responding to any questions and we loved being in Ambleside but not in the centre but easy walking distance , we could also walk from the cottage as so many lovely walks around the area low and high walks , would use this again as a base , have always stayed in the lakes in remote spots , but lots of advantages in being in Ambleside .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good central cosy cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Hi Jan, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget if you book again you will have 5% discount next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwrightbe...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From entering the cottage its like a home from home and we felt comfortable straight away.
A lot of character with open fireplace . The location is perfect as its a short walk into the town centre but sat in the communal garden there is zero traffic noise.
Yes it small but this adds to the coziness . However the bedrooms are a good size and comfortable.
I would recommend this cottage and its obvious that the owners take pride in it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
I'm so glad you loved the cottage. We do too. Hope you will be back soon to claim your 5% discount for returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4fit
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As regards to getting there google maps to us right to property but supplied directions were spot on.
cottage was on foot two minutes from town ten minutes to the foot of the hills, the property itself was small but it had everything we needed and more. it suited our visit perfectly and we had a great time.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
I'm so glad you loved the cottage. We do too. Hope you will be back soon to claim your 5% discount for returning guests."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing