We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,463)
Filter reviews
1,463 results
Traveller rating
983
368
70
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
983
368
70
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub club room steam room outdoor jacuzzi leisure facilities cold buffet lovely hotel lake district spa bath car park the main hotel walk in shower cooked breakfast lounge area power shower leisure club breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,463 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Just back from a weekend here with the inlaws. We have been here a few times and like it because it is situated right in the middle of Ambleside, good for restaurants, shops and near to plenty of walks. Parking is also a bonus.

Whilst checking in, we were advised that the lift was broken. My inlaws were on the second floor and we decided to swap our room with them (1st floor). One of the staff members Paul asked if they wanted a ground floor lodge room which we very much appreciated.

The rooms are clean, lovely white fluffy towels and a fridge and safe. We also used the spa area - pool, steam, sauna and jacuzzi. I also used the well equipped gym.

Breakfast is good,with lots of buffet selection, plus choices of fish or full English.

Definitely one of the best places to stay in Ambleside.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sue82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review and for your kind comments, sounds like you did have a nice weekend away with us and I'm glad we were able to offer your in laws a ground floor room in the Lodge whilst the lift was out of action. I'm pleased to report it is all back in full working order. We love that you think we are one of the best places to stay in Ambleside - thank you comments like that make it all worth while and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I have booked the Salutation Hotel for my walking group during April for the last 10 years and cannot speak too highly of the hotel and its staff. Everything about the hotel is superb. The bedrooms – even the Classic rooms which are the cheapest - are extremely comfortable and well appointed, the three lounges have a lovely ambience and the restaurant serves amazing breakfasts and a wide choice of lunches and dinners, all at very reasonable prices. In addition, the hotel has the best outside Jacuzzi any of us has ever seen together with an excellent indoor pool, steam room and sauna, as well as a well equipped gym. Last but not least, all of the hotel staff, from those that make up the bedrooms to the receptionists to the restaurant and bar staff are friendly, polite and efficient. Anyone looking for excellent accommodation anywhere in the Lake District would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than the Salutation Hotel and my walking group will never consider anywhere else for our future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

A brilliant hotel - thank you what a great compliment! I'm delighted that you and your walking group had a great stay with us and from your comments I can see we ticked all the boxes during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you all back to stay with us again soon- its always great to have our regular guests to stay and great to know you have been with us for 10 years here's to the next 10 - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stayed for two nights and had booked a Classic Double Room. We joined the Moorland Club (£15) first and this entitled us to 10% discount on room rates plus a free nights Dinner for us both. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to the Troutbeck suite for an additional £43.50 per night. It was worth the extra as the room was large plus there was an outside balcony with a hot tub. The hotel is small but perfect. The Spa has a small gym, lovely pool with relaxing beds, steam room, sauna and a large outdoor Jacuzzi pool. Breakfast was outstanding especially the freshly cooked poached haddock and eggs. We dined at the hotel both evenings and whilst the food was good the menu was limited. The staff are wonderful & friendly and very helpful. My wife booked two treatments (hot shell back massage and foot massage) and said they were the best she had ever had. One day we purchased Windermere Lake Boat cruise tickets & steam train from the Waterfront pier. Excellent value for money and wonderful way to spend a day out.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for posting your review and I'm really pleased you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments about your stay are really very much appreciated and its good to know that our guest's enjoy our facilities and service, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon and take advantage of your Westmorland Club discounts and special offers - welcome to the Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

It’s clear that a lot of money has been spent renovating this hotel. But money alone doesn’t make a hotel successful. The staff are friendly, genuinely helpful and appear to pay great attention to detail.
Food was excellent, room excellent and the spa was spotless and relaxing.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank themonty888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your review - Top Marks we are very happy with that! We do believe in keeping the hotel in top condition with the facilities , furnishings and décor thank you for noticing but most of all thank you for your kind comments about the team - your right they are the ones that really make the hotel and we are blessed with a really great bunch of guys both front and back of house. We look forward to welcoming you back - thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We didn't stay at the hotel but visited 4 nights running for dinner, having sampled offerings elsewhere on our first night. We were made to feel welcome and the atmosphere and service is as it should be. The food is cooked and presented very well and it is difficult to pick out our favourites as it is all very good. Prices are pretty much comparable to those in much poorer establishments (and there is a 10% discount for return visits). Will definitely return here when we visit Ambleside again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank I_and_she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review and for dinning with us during your stay, it great to welcome people back in the restaurant and I'm pleased the team looked after you and you enjoyed your meals with us - I know so many great dishes on the menu I would have trouble picking a favourite too . We look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us when you visit Ambleside again - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews