We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and our dog thought so too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Helmshore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay and our dog thought so too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our third stay at the Salutation for a winter break walking in the Lakes. This time we took our dog and the staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and understood the requirements of guests with dogs.
The staff are a real strength of this hotel and make guests feel special.
There is a lot of lounge space in a series of cosy rooms that give the guests a chance to sit quietly and chat the evening away. We had B&B and the the breakfast kept us going for a day's walking. There are many good walks within a short drive and, although located in the centre of Ambleside, some walks start right behind the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Join the hotel's Westmorland club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaMike520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you we like to keep our four legged friends (and their owners !) happy! Great comments about our staff we are always lucky to have such a good team and so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our award winning breakfast... we will keep you up to date with all our great Westmorland Club offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
719
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Another perfect stay at the Salutation! Staff as friendly and helpful as always, food, especially breakfast, delicious and lots of choice. We ate from the Bistro menu in the evening and enjoyed the food and the relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. The new lounge is a lovely addition to the hotel and provides yet another beautiful area to spend time doing nothing in comfort!!!

Congratulations to Geoff and all the staff at the start of their 25th Anniversary year at the "Sally"!!! Wishing you all a successful and enjoyable year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your great review so pleased you had such a perfect and relaxing time with us.
We are really looking forward toour 25th year, many thanks for your kind wishes, we do think its something to be proud of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

stayed here fri to sun. excellent facilities pool lush gym too. meals were delicious and not too pricey. staff very helpful and friendly. would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thanks really pleased you had a great and 'lush' stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My partner and I just returned from a two night stay on bed and breakfast basis. We found the staff very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was nice and fresh with a good choice. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for the review and your kind comments about the hotel, food and cleanliness your cooments are really appreciated, look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham Lancs UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the Salutation for one night in November. We have stayed several times before and really like it due to it's perfect location and free parking. Our room was in the Lodge and had a large terrace overlooking the stream, this must be great on a nice evening with a glass of wine. The room was a good size, lovely modern decor and very clean. We ate out in the evening at a local bistro, there is a great deal of choices for places to eat in the local area and you can check many of them on Trip Advisor. We had a drink in the bar, the staff were friendly and helpful. The seating area could be more cosy and maybe gentle lightning would achieve this but it is very nice never the less. The spa is a real bonus at this hotel so make sure you pack your swimsuit! Breakfast was fab, everything fresh and local.

All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location with great facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie_Luke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your review, very pleased you had agod birthday celebration with us and you enjoyed our breakfast we think they are 'fab' too all fresh and local ... thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
5.0 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
6.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.0 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.8 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price range (per night): $179 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing