We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, like a home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Pudding Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pudding Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Pudding Cottage
Lake Windermere
Choices Leisure Club
Pool
Choices Leisure Club
Sauna
Choices Leisure Club
Spa room
Choices Leisure Club
Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gardengir...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, like a home away from home”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Pudding Cottage for a week in early April 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The cottage is very comfortable, well laid out with easy access to Ambleside and Windermere. It was very well equipped with all the normal appliances and lots of extras for rainy days, families with young children etc. Our children aged 8 and 10 loved their comfy bedroom and the excellent choice of DVDs for family evenings in. In addition the location opposite Brockhole, the Lake District Visitor Centre was perfect for our children's age group. There is so much to do in the area-lovely walking, National Trust properties and boat trips on the lake to name a few. The owners of the cottage provided excellent recommendations on activities, walks and restaurants in the area which for our first visit to the area was really valuable. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a 'home away from home' accommodation in the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you Margaret for taking the trouble to give us such a lovely review. We really try to make it a home away from home and hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P
1 review
“Fabulous family retreat”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a joy this place was for my family! We've just returned from a lovely break, with our 2 little boys aged nearly 3 and 2 months old. We all loved this home from home, with our toddler delighted with the array of toys, colouring books and his new obsession - the toy dog Hoover and kitchen clock!

Pudding Cottage is well equipped, spacious and maintained to a good standard. Brockhurst opposite has the best play area I've ever seen and I can't wait to return when my boys are that bit older and can do all of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thanks for the lovely review and we are grateful for your comments on the toy box which we aim to refresh regularly. We hope to see you back at Pudding in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful with stunning views.”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage is beautiful, a lovely size and very comfortable and the wifi is great which is very important for teenagers. Kids took iPads, mobile phones etc and nobody moaned once which was great. The views from the cottage are beautiful and the garden is so stunning and peaceful. The Autumn trees looked gorgeous and it was lovely to watch the birds. We went on some beautiful walks near to the Cottage and the boys enjoyed archery and the zip wire at Brockhole visitors centre which was only a few minutes walk away. We enjoyed everything and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Jacky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sue and what a lovely review it was! So glad you liked the facilities at Brockhole and enjoyed your stay at Pudding - hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markw0rld...
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location, especially for family groups with a kid”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fabulous cottage and the other reviews say it all. This time I was travelling with extended family including my seven year old niece, so the remote exclusivity I usually seek would not have been appropriate but it was still tranquil and lovely despite being in the heart of it all. The latter is what made it good for this group- perfectly kitted out for someone on a Beautrix Potter adventure such as the little one with a great homely feel with the books, toys and DVD's. As we self catered throughout the closeness to proper supermarkets and the other sophistication of Windermere was a great help. Very well kept. The only quibble was that appliances and utensils in the kitchen have probably reached the stage where they need extensive updating throughout - we tried sharpening the knives for example, but there is only so much one can do with an old Sainsbury's knife and the knife sharpener we found in a cupboard. However, at the end of the day the rates were not u reasonable and I did not feel at all let down as I often can be by far more expensive places. Clearly the owners see this as a loved country home they lend out to others and it is much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Mark thank you so much for your lovely review and am really pleased yo enjoyed your holiday. Am concerned you thought appliances need updating as we pretty much replace everything every couple of years and immediately if guests have an issue. I will contact you privately to find out which items you had issues with so we can replace them and huge thanks for letting me know - its a big help!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane19543...
Groombridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After a very long journey we arrived at Pudding Cottage, beautiful location, easy to catch the bus anywhere and opposite brockhole which was fantastic for the kids.

The cottage itself is roomy, well decorated and perfectly presented.
Toys provided for little ones and a little terrace and garden outside to play.

Jacky was an amazing host and resolved a little query we had within minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Laura just picked up your review whilst on the London underground! Thank you so much. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and I knew you'd find Brockhole brilliant for the kids. I hope you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing