We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best for family!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheeky_Mo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best for family!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

If you are a family with kids, this place is the best. The owner has thought of everything anyone would need. It's facilities are superb.

The location is also perfect.

We truly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazyturtl...
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A truly perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had yet another fantastic stay over Christmas with our two young children. The cottage is superbly located for exploring the lakes in any weather. Everything we needed was provided for and the range of toys and books kept us all entertained happily for two weeks. The owner is very welcoming and even left us presents under the tree! A wonderful 5 star experience.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday house!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Pudding Cottage is beautifully positioned close to Ambleside and yet away from it all! It is a spacious and attractive house. There is so much do on its doorstep. You can see Lake Windermere from the landing window, and across the road is the Brockhole Visitor Centre -where we all braved the Treetop Trek, played in the adventure playground and enjoyed lovely lunch with gorgeous views. You can take boat trips from here to Ambleside with all it's cinemas, restaurants and boutiques and Hiking shops, or Wray Castle. There are walks in every direction and fantastic National Trust properties close by.
We have already booked our next visit with Granny, Grandpa and our two small children!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place for young children”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Pudding Cottage with our two children, who are aged two and six months respectively. It was a great place to stay with young children, as all necessary equipment (high chair, travel cot, stair gate, blackout blinds in the bedroom, etc) is provided, and lots of extras too, such as a box of toys, children's books, and a box of garden toys (scooter, trike, etc.), which was a particular hit with our daughter. And of course free use of a warm swimming pool was very well received by all the family!

Fantastic location too: great for walks, Brockhole playground, boat trips on the lake, etc.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coops1606
1 review
“Family Holiday in Lakes”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A perfect 3 bedroom cottage for our family holiday in the Lakes. Ideally located near Brockhole (Visitor Centre) meaning you can leave the car if you wish and travel by bus and boat. Very clean and well looked after and a lot of thought gone into the cottage for family requirements - we have a family of 4 but you could comfortably sleep 6.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing