We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Lake District cottage, especially for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mahmar
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Lake District cottage, especially for families”
Reviewed 20 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Our second stay at Pudding Cottage in less than a year...it is a fantastic find! We have 2 very young children and our 3 year old is like a child in a sweet shop when he arrives, tugging out all the different toys stored away discreetly in the cottage. The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished with a peaceful outlook where, on our second visit, we saw deer and had daily visits from a pair of ducks! We love the fact that we can wander over to Brockhole Visitor Centre for the playground and new indoor spft play centre and also catch a boat to Ambleside for a pub lunch and enjoy a drink - no driving day! Dealing with Jacky, the owner, is a pleasure as she is very efficient and accessible. Highly recommended - we too would like to go again to this stunning part of our country.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbatty
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pudding Cottage deserves 6 stars”
Reviewed 16 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Pudding cottage was the correct location, and the ideal cottage for our small family reunion. Everything was perfect and we can't find a fault with the place. The extra star is for the owner who made the process of renting the cottage easy, even with the extra difficulty of renting from the USA. Will try to get back as soon as we can.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm1003
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Dream Luxury Cottage!”
Reviewed 11 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first stay in pudding cottage. Well, what a delightful and luxury cottage it is! The photos on the internet don’t do it justice. It’s fresh, clean, modern, with just about every convenience, and fully stocked with everything you could dream of!! It’s located in a superb location, nice and peaceful, but only minutes away from Ambleside with its delightful shops!
Prior to our trip I must say our criteria to look for a perfect cottage was set high because we did not want a sterile holiday cottage but a luxurious standard basically a home away from home so we decided to look on Trip Advisor and quickly found Pudding cottage based on the best rating given and the excellent reviews of ALL their previous guests. I must say we were so so happy here and Trip Advisor really did a good job for us finding the cottage. There is so much attention to detail and much effort has gone into creating the perfect home away from home.
Membership of Low Wood leisure club was a real bonus and we made use of it every day during our stay.
The cottage is extremely kids friendly from stocked full toy boxes to dollhouses, also outdoor trikes, next time we must bring our kids with – they’d have an absolute beano!! The large safe back garden is a real pro, kids could play out there, and you can watch them from the window!
We had an amazing short holiday at Pudding Cottage, and we can’t wait to come back again!!!
Jacky is so helpful, nothing is too much for her!!!
We would highly recommend Pudding Cottage to everyone, young and old alike!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Reviewed 23 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scarlettp...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous wekkend!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful snowy weekend at Pudding cottage, well equiped and so homely. We arrived in teh snow and were just like little children in awe of the surroundings of the cottage. The cottage has everything you could think of from crystal wine glasses, psp, extra duvets, torch, wildlife in teh garden! just can't fault it. Will definately be returning. Near to all local ammenities walk to local spar and pub with roaring log fire! perfect!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing