We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Stones Throw”
Review of Elder Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elder Grove
Ranked #25 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super Stones Throw”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Stones Throw, the self-catering accommodation belonging to Elder Grove. On arrival there was home-made bread, jam and marmalade awaiting us. There were also eggs, milk and cheese - plenty to keep us going till we could get to the shops! The log-burning stove was also made up and ready to light. The apartment is in a beautiful old building that has all mod cons in the kitchen, including a slow-cooker, which we used twice during our stay. The building retains its old character, including the wood burning stove for a romantic night in, and a super Airbath with coloured lights, massage and bubbles! There is also a Juliet balcony off the lounge, with lovely views over the town and surrounding fells. We also took advantage of the drying room during one of the rare rainy days in Ambleside! The bedroom with its Queen-sized bed was very comfortable and quiet due to the thickness of the walls.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
230
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Elder Grove and it was better than the first time. Paul and Vicky can't do enough to make you feel welcome. Location is ideal and plenty of information on local walks can be found in the bar area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tincancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This B & B is simply great. The owner, Paul is absolutely friendly and hands on. The breakfast is simply delicious. The room provided is so comfortable and nice. The best part about this B & B is that they provide hand made lotion and soap that are so sweet smelling! If ever I visit Ambleside, I would definitely stay in Elder Grove.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed at the elder grove for 3 nights recently , lovely spacious room, beautifully decorated throughout, breakfast was 100% - good choice of food and excellent quality. Just a two minute walk into town centre, we shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: room 4 very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldergrove, Owner at Elder Grove, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to Elder Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

In desperate need of a weekend away (from the kids and animals), we found Elder Grove through some really positive reviews (including trip advisor which gave it a 9.1). It was easy to find and as promised, just a stones throw from pubs, restaurants and shops in Ambleside. Parking was rather tricky as guests cars were shoe horned into relatively tight spots (the owner had to leave a sign in his windscreen as he had no choice but to block other guests cars in - but he was quick to move if needed).
Very attractive building but confusing to enter from the car park if it's your first time - the rear entrance takes you to the kitchens and you have to follow a short corridor around to find reception!
Nice clear support of local produce (you can purchase anything from the bodywash in the rooms to marmalade from breakfast) and a really welcoming little lounge for guests. The small bar felt rather less welcoming and so cluttered we felt we would be intruding on someones private space.
We stayed in the king and were frankly disappointed. The king bed took practically all the floorspace and I stubbed my toe on numerous occasions on the chair crammed in at the end of the bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were as basic as they come with cheap sachets of bland tea and coffee, and awful 'tubes' of UHT.
I didn't see much sleep as the pillows were filled with those tiny polystyrene balls you get in hospital pillows and make you feel like you're face down in snow. An overheated room didn't help - even with the window fully open (and this was in early March!).
I was looking forward to the 'Award Winning Breakfast' the next morning and was treated to one that could only be equaled by any service station along the m6... I'm not sure what award it was granted but in all fairness my wife really enjoyed her vegetarian option.
So overall - a string of disappointments made passable by friendly owners and good central location. Just can't help feeling that a little attention to smaller details could make this a rather special place we'd go back to again and again, but sadly as it is we wouldn't recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: King room just means the bed size - not the level of comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldergrove, Owner at Elder Grove, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Oh dear – so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us.
But please could we mention to potential trippers reading this page -Yes the parking is a little tight but we do have onsite parking. Our bedroom information file offers guests the choice of extra items such as fresh milk & firmer pillows (some like them soft some like them hard) or how to lower the thermostat on the radiator, we do rely on guests to ask us for specific requirements.
Yes the kitchen door is off the entrance from the car park but we go for the family run B & B relaxed approach and like to be available to casually chat to guests during our working day – hence the open door
Due to guests demands for bigger beds we have this year had to add king beds to some rooms, unfortunately we can’t re build a Victorian house to make the rooms bigger, but chairs can easily be moved to spare a bumped big toe.
Detailed room descriptions can be found on our own website but when guests choose to book through agency sites they must realise that we are limited to space for describing rooms.
As a small owner run B & B we do our upmost to give a good personnel service, describe in honest detail as best we can through our own site exactly what we offer in our Victorian house and provide as much help as possible to guests with requests for personal preferences, we take note of past guest reviews and try to implement any helpful suggestions.
Unfortunately we aren’t able to please everyone; sorry you didn’t enjoy your nights stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 km away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 km away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 km away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.4 km away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Grove

Property: Elder Grove
Address: Elder Grove Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price range (per night): $187 - $213
Hotel Class:4 star — Elder Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elder Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Grove Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing