We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect way to see out 2016”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Autumn Sunset
Take a walk in the field
Some beautiful visitors stop by
sunset in the snow
Spring visitors next door!
I can see a rainbow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lukepdoug...
1 review
“Perfect way to see out 2016”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My first time visiting the Lake District and certainly won't be the last, arrived as a surprise birthday retreat for my girlfriend and this place was absolutely beautiful the most serene and intimate stay with my partner. Cannot praise enough will definitely be returning. Great location for any activities you would like to do or perfect for a lazy day chilling out on the sofa! Many thanks to Jayne happy new year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Dear Luke
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am so pleased that you had a special time. It really is a place to relax and enjoy the surrounding beauty of Ullswater.

Best Wishes

Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at the Ullswater Far Boathouse. I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity at this special place. The Autumnal colours are so beautiful, there are some wonderful recent shots on the web site and I do hope you come back, maybe in a different season
Kind Regards
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David H
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary to remember”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We chose the Boathouse to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary in favour of staying in a more traditional hotel. I'm so glad that we took that decision, it's left us with a far more memorable break,

Jayne was superb in all aspects of our booking process and making sure that our stay was as special as we'd hoped it would be. We arrived to find wine, champagne, chocolates and flowers to help us start our mini break in style which we were very touched by.

The Boathouse had been refurbished following the dreadful flooding in the winter. It is absolutely stunning, and very well appointed to a high standard. The location, views, peace and tranquility are unbeatable. Gazing out from the lounge to the lake and changing mountain landscape throughout the day was truly beautiful.

In all, the Boathouse is very special, we will definitely be looking to return in the future to enjoy it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic location, stunning views, well appointed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you had a great time and I am delighted that it was somewhere both special and memorable. Thank you also for booking just after the floods! I do hope you return, it is so beautiful and yet different depending on the time of year.
Best Wishes

Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenafay
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Long Weekend”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Driving down the half mile private road was the perfect build up to reveal this idyllic boat house.

On arrival, there were scattered rose petals leading towards the bottle of champagne, chocolates and vase of red roses - a lovely touch, thank you.

Now to the boathouse... We simply could not fault it. The attention to detail was evident throughout. Everything you could possibly need was there. The perfect amount of DVDs, kitchen utensils, duvets, blankets, binoculars, mood lighting, let alone the gorgeous robes and towels.

On a side note, it was so refreshing to stay somewhere with a perfectly working shower with the perfect water pressure! Rare to get both!

We loved waking up to the picturesque calm reservoir and the spectacular views. We were lucky enough to be treated to a wind surfing regatta on the Sunday morning, which was great viewing from the balcony.

This was our first break as a couple, given that we are Millennials, it was actually VERY refreshing to have no WIFI. We really enjoyed a social media-less weekend. However if you really do need some signal, walk to the edge of the pier, a bar or 2 of 3G may appear.

We will definitely be back in 2017, would love to try experience every season in the boathouse. I can imagine Winter would be spectacular for the snowy views.

So happy we found the Ullswater Far Boathouse, thank you for a perfect stay. Can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That nothing could be faulted!
Liked least: That we had to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at the Ullswater Far Boathouse. I am delighted you had a superb time and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity at this special place. I hope you took away some special memories and I would love you both to come back, it is just as peaceful and serene in different seasons.
Best wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
1 review
“Amazing place to stay in stunning location”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Far Boathouse and we will treasure the memories forever. The boathouse itself is beautifully set back within a private plot covered by trees that sits positioned on the edge of the peacefully, relaxing Ullswater lake. The location couldn't be better, the views from the balcony are breathtaking and surreal, It's an experience in itself. The boathouse is lovely and cosy with modern decor and a top-of-the-range bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen has everything you need with great quality equipment from the cutlery to the wine glasses. The owner, Jane kindly welcomed us with a bottle of prosecco, roses and a box of chocolates, that was much appreciated. You can tell Jane takes great care and has so much pride in the place. We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for letting us stay there and will definitely be back in the near distant future. Thank you, Corrina and Lee
Ps. would recommend maybe introducing wifi, that was the only thing i could possibly think of that would have improved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am so happy you had a wonderful break. It is such a relaxing place and the views are stunning all year round. Wifi would be difficult to get due to the location but sometimes it is good to really just get away. 3 G does work in certain places. I do hope you will return in the near future
Best wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing