We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous retreat!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Jenny's Croft

Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jenny's Croft.  Great walks in the local area The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jenny's Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jenny's Croft.  Great walks in the local area
The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jenny's Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn.
Jenny's Croft open plan living room with log burning fire
The dining area with an antique oak refectory table opening through to the Breakfasting Kitchen
The breakfasting kitchen with electric hob, oven, dishwasher and American style fridge freezer
The kitchen opens to the rear sandstone terrace. A well stocked welcome hamper awaits new arrivals.
The spacious Master Bedroom has a five foot antique bed and an ensuite bathroom
The ensuite Master Bedroom bathroom with a cast iron bath and a skylight in the cathedral ceiling
The second ensuite bedroom with shower room can be arranged with a 6 foot king bed or as 2 twin beds
The second ensuite bedroom with a shower room may also be arranged as two twin beds if preferred
The gated private sandstone terrace opens from the kitchen door.  Weber BBQ and charcoal provided.
Breakfast on the terrace with raised beds and wooded fields behind.
The view across the rear garden and terrace of and onto the Pennines
The courtyard garden, sustainable teak garden furniture provided for guest use
Jenny's Croft open plan garden
Cherry tree in bloom in front of the cottage which is accessed from private gravelled parking area
The fields across the lane from Jennys Croft show the beautiful landscape of the Eden Valley
One of the public footpaths by the River Eden which is walking distance from Jennys Croft
The fields across from Jennys Croft in the summertime with the Pennines in the distance
The view over the lane from Jennys Croft in the wintertime, little noise pollution in this area.
The sandstone walled lane across from Jennys Croft and the Pennines in the snow
The National Lottery funded playground in the village of Glassonby, an easy walk from Jennys Croft
The view over Jennys Croft and its gardens from its gravelled private parking area
Jenny's Croft aerial view
Great golfing in the local area
A view over the lakes and fells
Dalemain Country house and gardens - excellent teas and lovely gardens
Hiking trails
This was the view at the top of Honister slate mine
Switzerland of the North!
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House
Fishing on the Eden
Levens Hall medieval topiary gardens
Hutton in the Forest stately home and gardens
Sailing at Glenridding
Discover Historic Penrith
Aira Force owned by The National Trust great for walking
Steamers on Lake Ullswater
Rheghed - A Lake District attraction for family activities, shopping, cinema and exhibitions
Lady of the Lake historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Summit of Hallin Fell
Aerial View of Ullswater
Ullswater in the Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Ullswater Steamers 'Raven'
Lady Wakefield
Historic Steamer on Ullswater
Long Meg & Her Daughters Bronze Age Stone Circle between Little Salkeld & Glassonby
Lacy's Caves by the River Eden at Glassonby
Lacy's Caves
See if you can spot any Red Squirrels around Glassonby
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
Lakelands Autumn colours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FionaJH
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous retreat!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Jenny's Croft is the most amazing holiday cottage and perfect for our 'getaway' to the Lake District. Every minute detail had been thought of to make our stay so memorable. With the beautiful weather that accompanied our stay we couldn't have wished for more. 'Amazing, awesome, fabulous' what more can
we say! Can't wait to return in the near future. Thankyou!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent holiday at Jenny's Croft. We really appreciate your feedback and it was great to hear that you had such a lovely time at the cottage and had such great weather as well !!!
We would love to welcome you back again and please feel free to get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiepat...
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ace”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were all blown away with this cottage absolutely delightful bigger than it looks in the photo. Clean and tidy and the views are spectacular . We had a three night stay but wished we could of stayed a couple of more days. The hamper and fresh fruit was an added bonus. Our grandaughter loved running around the beautiful gardens. Luckily we had fine weather. The owners have thought of everything. We will give this place a big fat Ace.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Jenny's Croft and it's super to hear your grandaughter had fun in the gardens. Thank you also for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District we would be thrilled to welcome you and your grandaughter back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia M
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Wow' was the first word from everybody as we entered the property.”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage was superbly renovated with tasteful decoration and furniture, and full of character. The owners had thought of everything that was required to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, even down to the fabulous welcome hamper. The kitchen was modern and very clean as were both of the bathrooms. As for the bedrooms, well the Egyptian cotton bedding on top of extremely comfortable beds was a real pleasure. This was such a good holiday that we have already booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt extremely comfortable and was real 5 star accommodation.
Liked least: Little or no mobile phone coverage.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay at Jenny's Croft - we will pass your comments back to our Team.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back again next May !
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC601
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jenny's Croft was an excellent choice for our stay near the Lake District. The grounds and spacious cottage are well maintained. The bountiful hamper and great bed were much appreciated as were the washer and dryer after having been on the road for over a week. We had great weather but still were able to enjoy the fireplace the last evening when the temperature was a bit cooler. We enjoyed the Lake District and the beautiful drives back and forth. The scenery closer to the cottage is also very picturesque. This cottage ranks at the top of the list of the many accommodations we have rented over the past 25 years. If steps are a problem, this cottage may not be a good choice for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The lovely furnishings and location.
Liked least: Lack of good reading lamps on tables close to sofas. We like to read!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to Jenny's Croft & it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit including the log burning fire on the cooler evenings! Thank you also for highlighting the internal steps at Jenny's Croft where the bedrooms are upstairs and there are some internal steps between the rooms. We have other cottages with ground floor bedrooms which may suit our guests who have less mobility & we also provide a detailed access statement on our website for each of our cottages for any visitors who would like to learn more information about the internal layouts of our cottages. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a return visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria & the Lake District. Best regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaymalya...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Lake District”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage is very well maintained. Although self-catering, the owners provided a lot of startup grocery to make it easier on the first day. Great view from the property. A little remote but if one has a car then getting around in Lake District is quite easy from the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well maintained, great view, very peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Hi thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to Jenny's Croft. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the complimentary welcome hamper helpful. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing