We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic party pad”

Review of Melmerby Hall

Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
The arched entrance to Melmerby with the the Pennines behind Melmerby Hall in the early springtime with daffodils under the beech trees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Melmerby Hall - the front entrance showing the 'Archery Lawn' to the left
The arched entrance to Melmerby with the the Pennines behind
Melmerby Hall in the early springtime with daffodils under the beech trees
Chess in the Library
The fireplace in the Library
The Georgian Drawing Room at Melmerby Hall with one of the four working fireplaces (free logs incl!)
The Drawing Room
Tea in the Drawing Room
The Drawing Room from the hallway
The Dining Room
The Family Living Room
The Family Living Room
The Kitchen from the breakfast table
The Kitchen
The Breakfasting Kitchen opening onto the patio
The Breakfasting Kitchen
The Jacobean Bedroom
The Jacobean room ensuite
The Master Bedroom
The cast iron roll top bath in the Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom which also has a separate shower
The Chinese Bedroom
The Chinese Room ensuite
The Victorian Bedroom
The Victorian room ensuite
The Edwardian Bedroom
The Edwardian room ensuite
The French Empire Bedroom
The Nursery
The Nursery ensuite
The Billiards room
The Billiards room
Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage on the right hand side
Melmerby Hall from the Archery Lawn
Our beautiful ancient beech tree in the garden
The formal gardens
Melmerby Hall gardens and the Castle Folly
The walled orchard gardens at Melmerby Hall with traditional herbaceous borders
Summertime flowers in the gardens
St John's Church Spire rising above the garden
The private woodland of Melmerby Hall carpeted with bluebells in April and May
The private woodland offers wonderful walks and a stream to explore
Coming through the archway entrance to Melmerby Hall, the pub is within walking distance!
The grounds of Melmerby Hall are surrounded by a traditional sandstone parkland wall
Walking distance from Melmerby Hall is The Shepherd's Inn Pub, a villlage shop & tea room and bakery
One of the Pennine walks in the fells above Melmerby, One of the designated AONBs in England
An antique map of the local area
Early morning calm
Looking over Ullswater towards Glenridding
Great hiking
Dalemain country house and award winning gardens
golfing in the Lake District
Sailing at Glenridding
Ullswater view
Fishing in the Eden Valley
Daffodils in the Lake District
The top of Honiston Slate mines in the winter
The famous Ullswater Steamers
Hutton in the Forest historic home and parkland
Levens Hall has amazing ancient topiary gardens
Our son quad biking at Rookin House Farm
Roaming Herdwick sheep !
Summer surrounds Lake Ullswater
The Lake District National Park
Castlerigg Stone Circle, near Keswick
Vindolanda Roman Ruins
Biking in the Lake District !!!
Melmerby Hall Ground Floor Plan
Melmerby Hall First Floor Plan
Melmerby Second Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tynemouth...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic party pad”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Melmerby Hall for a 50th birthday.I have to say it was the best family and friends weekend we could have wished for. The Hall was amazing full of all the character you would expect,kitchen dinner really was the heart of the house it had everything we needed and thank goodness for the dish washers. The children had the best time exploring the gardens and even had a splash down by the river,they even got a visit from Santa who came to the village with his reindeer.
Every bedroom had a character of its own with lovely comfy clean beds,towels and toiletries which we all appropriated to much because no one got up early to make breakfast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed the 50th Birthday celebrations at Melmerby Hall. It sounds like you all had great fun especially the children and a visit from Santa with his reindeer! Thank you also for your kind comments they are much appreciated by all of us. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towney72
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic New year break”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have just returned for a wonderful 5 day break at Melmerby Hall with friends and family. This hall is just about perfect. It has several very large rooms on the ground floor where you can take yourself off to relax in front of the open fires or alternatively gather in a large group to celebrate, the kitchen was particularly good for this. Upstairs, across 2 floors there are 9 excellently sized en-suite bedrooms and a large room with a full size snooker table. The kitchen is a good size with a central island, an Aga, an electric oven with gas hob, dishwasher and large American style fridge freezer (plus another fridge in the utility area, where there is also a second dishwaher, washing machine and tumble dryer). This year was the 8th time we have done this at New year and Melmerby is by far the most well equipped.
Outside there are lovely gardens leading to a large wood where we took some nice walks with the children. At the rear there is a large flagged area where we put a hired hot tub. There’s also plenty of parking for about 7 or 8 cars.
I would highly recommend Melmerby Hall for a large group looking to spend time together in fantastic surroundings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent NY break at Melmerby Hall. It's so lovely to hear such fantastic feedback about the Hall and grounds and that you enjoyed the extra luxury of hiring a hot tub for your stay !!
We hope to be welcoming you all back again next New Year !!
Best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have read many of the recent reviews and agree with all the praise it has been given. We had a memorable five day stay over Christmas.The accommodation was perfect for our family of twenty; comfortable bedrooms, plenty of hot water and the kitchen excellently equipped.
We appreciated having a boot room for the outdoor wear and to house the dogs and also three sitting rooms for the family to spread out.
The Rowleys and their team had taken great care to welcome us and to ensure we had a marvellous time. There was a decorated tree; a large table with a tablecloth and arranged napkins ready to be laid and a fabulous welcome
basket. They had also taken trouble to prepare a walks file with copies of the walks and also a list of attractions to visit.
We were in time to have lunch at The Old Bakery and to collect our pre-ordered bread. Sadly it was then shut until after the new year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hi, Happy New Year to you all and thank for for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas stay at Melmerby Hall and found the accommodation worked for your family. Thank you for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated and it's great that you enjoyed your lunch at The Old Bakery. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelTravel...
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and setting for our family celebration.”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The property is in a lovely location with a large garden and adjoining woods. The village is 5 min walk away and has a couple of shops. The property is also a short drive from Penrith and the northern lakes. Melmerby hall has been restored to a superb condition all the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and have en-suite facilities. The main reception rooms are large and spacious and easily coped with our party of 16 adults and 4 children. The kitchen has all the facilities you would need and the Aga cooker give it a warm homely feeling. We had local caterers in for two nights for our anniversary celebration and the food they provide was excellent. The welcome hamper was also a nice touch when arriving at the hall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Hi,
Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review of your recent celebration break at Melmerby Hall. It's lovely to hear that you all had a nice weekend and enjoyed the facilities within the hall especially the Aga !!!
We wish you all a very Merry Christmas and all our best wishes for a happy and healthy 2017 !!
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john r
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Husbands 50th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Wow what can I say. Melmerby Hall is such a beautiful house. I booked the house to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday with a group of friends and we had the best time ever.

The house is situated in the quaint village of Melmerby. The grounds are beautiful and the house itself is so warm and welcoming and immaculately kept.

Each bedroom is individual in style and are of a very high standard . The house caters for your every need and there is plenty of space to spread out. The orangery is perfect to all eat breakfast together and the dining room is so grand for a special dinner. Lyn Hilditch came and cooked for us and the food was fabulous. We didn't even realise Lyn and the girls were in the kitchen, they came cooked the food, served it and cleared up and then left.

There is so much history connected to the house and it is a fascinating place to stay. We felt so at home, we didn't want to leave. The welcome hamper was a lovely gesture and provided everything you need including wine. The house was decorated for Christmas and was fabulous.

If you are looking for somewhere special to celebrate a special occasion, Melmerby Hall is the place. We are even thinking of going for an annual get together we loved it so much,

A big thank you to Christine and Jilly for all your help and for going the extra mile for us as we did request that the house was decorated for Christmas and I know it is usually decorated later on in December.

A place to create memories and a special memory we will treasure forever after our visit.

Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review after your recent stay at Melmerby Hall. It's so great to hear that you all had such a fantastic weekend celebrating your husband's special birthday. Jilly's team work very hard to make the house so welcoming for our guests and they will be over the moon so receive such lovely comments from you, as will Lynn Hilditch and her catering team - their food and service is first class !!
Of course we would be delighted to welcome you back again next year should you choose to make Melmerby Hall an annual get together !!
With our best wishes for a happy Christmas and New Year from all the team at The Rowley Estates.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 1,067
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing