We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Perfection”

Review of Elk Cottage

Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden
The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
The kitchen and utility room at Elk Cottage with dishwasher, microwave and washing machine / dryer
The well equipped kitchen at Elk Cottage, guests receive a generous welcome hamper and wine
The courtyard garden at Elk Cottage looking towards the raised flower beds leading up to the lawns
A great place to relax at the end of the day exploring in the Lake District and the Pennines
The Dining Room at Elk Cottage has french doors opening out onto a lawned area
The Dining Room opens through to the reception room with a cast iron wood burning fire
Elk Cottage living room with wood burning fire
The ensuite Master Bedroom with a five foot king size antique oak bed and 2nd private entrance
Another view of the Master Bedroom with an antique linen fold carved king size bed
The Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a shower over the cast iron bath
The second ensuite bedroom at Elk Cottage with a super king six foot bed and hand painted wardrobe
The second ensuite bedroom has a 6 foot bed that can be arranged as twins as requested
The second bedroom ensuite shower room with a rainfall shower and chrome heated towel rail
Elk Cottage Floor Plan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Elk Cottage is a 5* rated Grade II listed sandstone cottage with two ensuite BRs and wood fire
The summertime view from Glassonby over the Eden Valley to the Pennines
The Eden River footpath near Daleraven within walking distance from Elk Cottage
Neighbours in the village of Glassonby and the early morning view over the Estate
The National Lottery funded playground in the village, walking distance from Elk Cottage
The wintertime view from the lane leading to Elk Cottage across our family farm
The view to the Pennines from the village of Glassonby
The nearby village of Melmerby in the foothills of the Pennines with a great bakery & village shop
Sailing on Ullswater
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Dalemain historic house and lovely gardens
Fabulous hiking
A view over Ullswater in the early morning
The top of Honister slate mines in the wintertime
Hutton in the Forest historical home and parkland
Daffodils by the Lake
Great fishing
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House Farm
The Ullswater Steamers
Levens Hall amazing ancient topiary gardens
Sailing on Ullswater
The market town of Penrith
Aira Force managed by The National Trust ideal for walking
The Lady of the Lake - historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Rheged - a Lake Disrtict attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema and exhibitions
Steamer on Ullswater leaving Howtown
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eastrunne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Elk Cottage on the Rowley Estate is one of those hidden gems that you just want to keep returning to. It’s genuinely perfect in every way! For us, having stayed in many cottages all over the UK, the Elk was undoubtedly exceptional. Christine and Jilly were thoughtful, professional and considerate from the very moment we booked till the time we had to depart (reluctantly may I add!). The rooms were super comfy and spotlessly clean, with every little detail thought of to make our stay so easy, from little things like dishwasher tablets to even a ball for our dog! It was such a warm and hospitable touch to have a hamper full of amazing goodies when we arrived on a cold, wet night! Along with our friends who had a toddler, and us with our energetic Labrador, the cottage was roomy, warm and cosy, with breath-taking views and walks from the doorstep. Heading out the Lakes is easy too with it being a smooth 30 minute drive to Ullswater & the Aira Force Waterfalls, and about 45 minutes to Windermere. We cant wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Hi, Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Elk Cottage and we would love to welcome you and your labrador back to Elk Cottage or any of our other cottages in the future. Best regards Charles, Christine and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay at Elk Cottage - we really appreciate the feedback and we also love the food at the local pub too !
Hopefully we can welcome you all back again next year !
With all our best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gascoinep
Amalfi, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time at Elk cottage, the location is beautifully quiet and perfect for getting out and doing lots of walking. The cottage is fantastic, beautifully appointed and very cosy. We will be coming back to stay again. Very thoughtful welcome basket of food and drink. The owners were brilliant in their communication and everything lived up to expectation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay at Elk Cottage. We are really pleased that you had such a nice time and we appreciate your feedback on the cottage and service provided.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the master bedroom bed was sooo comfortable
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review of your stay at Elk Cottage - we will pass your comments on to Jilly's Team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SJS1966
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This really was the most beautiful cottage imaginable. We chose it because of the previous trip advisor ratings and cannot recommend it highly enough to others. The owners sent such welcoming emails when we enquired about availability and it was so useful that we didn't have to book for 7 days or Sat-Sat during the school holidays. The cottage was immaculate, there was a food basket waiting for us on arrival, fresh flowers in the bedrooms and toiletries in both bathrooms. Other thoughtful touches included washing powder, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets. The kitchen was so well equipped it put mine to shame! The surrounding area was just beautiful and so quiet, it really was a superb holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the cottage.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay at Elk Cottage and we are delighted that you all had such a good holiday at Glassonby. We really appreciate your positive feedback and comments. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 213
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing