We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff - a bit faded but warm and very welcoming”
Review of Pearson Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pearson Park Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff - a bit faded but warm and very welcoming”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Lovely old Victorian looking hotel adjacent to the Park. Food was tasty and excellent value. The staff were super attentive and even though the building was slightly faded and shabby there was a very warm welcoming homely atmosphere .
We had a huge family room (double bed each) and we were warm and very comfortable.
My dog was in Seventh Heaven with the park right opposite so lots of walks.
My daughter is at Uni in Hull so The Pearson Park is close by and convenient. I will DEFINITELY stay here again. I will be booking soon for my February mid term break. My Haven in Hull.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    13
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I booked a room for my family two months in advance and for email confirmation. When we turned up, they didn't have the booking - I had the email confirmation with the correct date, but they had booked us in on the system for the month before. There were no rooms available! Sorry! Yeah right, they found a room for us in a hotel in town renowned for the "ladies of the night" - we didn't take them up on it after visiting it as it was very unsuitable for a family - and ended up driving the 200 miles back home on the same day after a family event. All the room in other hotels in Hull were fully booked with ‘darts’ event!

Ruined our weekend - totally shambolic hotel and response - and wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zachariahpearson, Owner at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
A thousand apologies! Sometimes we just have to hold our hands up and say sorry - even if it doesn't help at the time. A simple human error was the reason we didn't have your booking in the right place - we've updated our procedures to try and ensure it doesn't happen again. The lady who originally handled your reservation was absolutely mortified once she realised what she'd done - but the team have learned from the experience and I'd like to thank you for taking the time to comment.

We also didn't know about your experience at the hotel we found for you either - maybe that was why they had rooms at a very busy time in the City and we were full - we'll take it on board. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The guy on reception couldn't have been nicer (he was the only member of staff we saw) but the whole place is a rabbit warren and the long corridors are a bit shabby. The rooms both smelt as if someone had been smoking in them recently and the bathrooms are just not what you expect these days. There were a couple of electrical fittings which looked very dodgy. We wanted to be out of the centre of Hull towards the university as we were visiting a student there and it's a great location on a nice park. We paid £55 a double room. The bed was quite comfortable and there was no noise from outside; we slept pretty well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

It was my parents 65th wedding anniversary, and my wife and I travelled down to Hull for a week to see them and take them for an evening meal in the hotel. On Monday morning 4th October 2010 we walked through the park to the hotel to view the menu to see if it would suit our elderly parents.We were met by a male (the owner?) and he showed us the menu which suited, so we booked a table for 5 people for 6pm Friday 8th October. We turned up just before 6pm and was met by a girl at the reception desk and another female worker who said they didnt know we had booked and that the chef didnt start work until 7pm-we were asked if we wanted a sandwich!!!! I asked who the male person was who we booked with and they said they didnt know who it was.we wakked out very upset and dissapointed in the amateur way they try to run a business.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tyl1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Me and my partner stayed here for one night whilst attending a function in the hotel. Unfortunately, aside from the pleasantness and helpfulness of the staff, it is difficult to find anything else positive to write about.

On entering the hotel, the friendly greeting was somewhat overshadowed by the musty/damp smell which hung in the air around the whole hotel. Our room was really a bit of a disgrace. The bed hadn't been made properly, the cistern on the toilet came away from the wall when flushing it, the fixtures and fittings in general were in a very shabby state indeed, there was no shower, no remote control for the televsion (ok, perhaps laziness got the better of me), and although I wouldn't go so far as to say the room was unclean, it could certainly have benefited from a good scrub down from top to bottom.

The room in which the function was held, was perfectly suitable for event, and again, I stress that staff were helpful in assisting us to set up the room as we wanted and provided everything we needed, however, the musty/damp smell was so bad we actually went out and bought an air freshener. The buffet that was provided was ample, however I was a bit concerned when one of the staff told me that it had been prepared that morning. Hardly fresh then, considering it had been sitting around until 8pm.

The general location of the hotel is not particularly pleasant, although the hotel website extols its virtues as a 'magical setting' for a red carpet setting. Wouldn't be my cup of tea for the big day.....

Shame really. Some basic attention could make a big difference

Would I stay there again? On the whole, I'd say not.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhough100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.7 km away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.9 km away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearson Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearson Park Hotel

Property: Pearson Park Hotel
Address: 70-72 Pearson Park | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pearson Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearson Park
Pearson Park Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing