We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
54
69
59
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
69
59
27
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

What an awful place don’t waste your money. Rooms were very dated - carpets threadbare and burnt with iron. Staff extremely rude and unprofessional- were told to be quite sitting in the garden 10 o clock in the morning ! Atmosphere from staff spoilt the weekend !!! Had to give one circle but not worth any.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We found the hotel to be very comfortable. The room was of an adequate size, with a large bathroom. The bed was firm and very comfortable, excellent as we have bad backs. The room was clean and kept so on our second morning. The staff were very friend,y and helpful. Breakfast was very tasty with a god choice, served by a cheerful waiter. If you are ona restricted budget it is well worth considering.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Review same as The Tunbridge Wells Retreat.
We have never been to such an awful Hotel, Dirty mouldy damp, staff could not care less about your stay.
Just told us to ask for compensation as that's what they do.

Date of stay: September 2017
7  Thank Happyjack52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

The place was dirty, the carpets stained, the room damp, noisy and uncomfortable, the food disappointing, the wifi a joke and the parking non-existent.
But the worse thing? Simon Colbran, the owner's total disregard and contempt for his guests. Our complaints/photos elicited just more contempt. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the last month, once in July and once this month, out of convenience rather than choice. Reasonably priced hotel but oh my god is it hot! Feels like the heating is on permanently, so you have to open the windows to get some air in! If your room faces the front, like each room I stayed in did, you are woken by lorries hurtling past at 4.30 in the morning (it is on a main road to be fair, but sort the heat issue out). When I stayed last week I was fortunate that there was a fan in the "wardrobe". Don't stay more than a few days, lack of hanging space! Staff are very good and the rooms are decorated beautifully but the toiletries need a lot of work!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank SJMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews