We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
318
283
164
67
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
283
164
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chandelier restaurant royal suite lovely hotel afternoon tea sandwiches steam room lovely grounds lovely room four poster bed following morning large bathroom sunday night wedding venue third floor cooked breakfast two night stay a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Visited here Dec2016. Lovely hotel in the foyer, bit tired when you walk further back, to the bathrooms for example.
Afternoon tea was lovely, beautifully presented.
Staff were lovely and kept the tea coming.
We had also arrived early and were accommodated with no issue.
Overall very nice, not spectacular

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This is the second year that my daughter and I come here for 3 days over Christmas. Customer service is outstanding, they really go out of their way to make the guests feel very welcome.

We booked the Christmas 3 course dinner and it was delicious. We also enjoyed spa facilities and booked massage treatments which were great.

Overall, really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ViktoriaMUK114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your very kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I stayed at The Spa Hotel on a business trip and I can safely say, it was the best place I've ever stayed on business. The hotel itself was just beautiful. The room was so cosy and absolutely spotless. The bed was possibly the comfiest I've ever slept on. The layout of the room was perfect, with enough room to just get ready in the morning and relax in the evening. The bathroom was so lovely and the shower, WOW the shower was amazing! The rooms just have such a homely feel to them. It was also quiet at night (well at least I think it was, I'm a very heavy sleeper). The hotel bar was very nice and the service was impeccable. Every person who worked at the hotel was very attentive and friendly. The breakfast was delicious too. I was sad to leave this hotel, and I will definitely be going back with some friends. There's also a lot of local bars and restaurants nearby, which is an added bonus.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback. What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and I will certainly be passing on your kind words to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Well this is the second year of coming here for a Christmas party and it was much better than last year. The food was much better as the vegetables last year were raw. Well organised and all had a great time.
Rooms very comfortable and showers good. Breakfast great. Unfortunately as we arrived late could not use extra facilities but would come and stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mapledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Stayed here last night for a company Christmas do and although the party was good the room we were allocated was very poor.
Considering this hotel has 4 stars i dont know why .
This hotel is very dated and is not in the 21st century when it comes to star rating.
Our room 207 although a big room was very old and the double bed if you can call it that was so small it was a joke and looked ridiculous in the large room.
The chandelier in the room looked like something from the adams family as did the horrible paintings on the gloomy walls
The bathroom was adequate enough said about that.
We found the traffic noise very loud as this room faces the road.
Breakfast wasnt anything special not for a 4 star i would barely award this place 3 stars.
We will not be returning and will not recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room tip: Dont bother
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. Our rating was assessed in November and we achieved 80% which is the highest bracket of a 4* rating, we in fact have one of the highest 4* ratings in the area, I am sorry if you do not feel this was apparent. We have invested several million pounds into the refurbishment of the hotel since its take-over and our focus is on our bedrooms at present, I will pass on your comments about this room to our interior design team so that they may make any improvements where necessary. I am sorry to hear that you did found your breakfast to be below your expectations, we have received very positive feedback relating to our breakfasts since the appointment of our new Head Chef, I have passed on your feedback to him to ensure he stays on top of this. It is a shame that you feel you would not return to us, I hope that you change your mind and if you do please contact me at office@spahotel.co.uk so I can ensure you are in one of our more recently refurbished rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews