We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”
Review of The Warren

The Warren
Reserve with OpenTable
The Warren is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 57
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Restaurant details
Description: The Warren Restaurant is an extension of The Crowborough Estate, holding stock of Sussex cattle, Boer goats, Fallow deer, and Wild boar among others which the restaurant draws on for its menu. Given the provenance, the kitchen predominantly cooks British food, occasionally dipping into other cuisines to provide a vehicle for flavours - nettle gnocchi for example, or poached oyster with wild boar chorizo. Chris Fitt and Martin Haymes wanted a fun and informal restaurant, to offer their Crowborough Estate's produce from. When the site of the renowned Signor Franco's became available, with those iconic arched windows of its orangery and glorious terrace overlooking the Spa town, the stage was set. The little-bit-quirky, but altogether classy decor reflects their creative touches. For some the restaurant has become a destination for special occasions but The Warren is casual and relaxed all the same. With the Game season about to start - we look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful dinner thank you very much...Amazing experience, can't wait to come back ..I come from Brighton just to have dinner here and I will come back soon

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 14carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Now that's what we call loyal - and we thank you for your custom. We are working up some spectacular Summer offers and if you like Jazz be sure to come and join us for Lunch on the 2nd June. With Summer (fingers crossed) on the way, we're replacing our regular Saturday and Sunday lunch menus with Brunch or BBQ - depending on the weather. Join our mailing list via our website and you'll be the first to receive our very best offers. We believe in rewarding loyalty, so see you very soon; and drive safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had a very nice lunch - not a vast menu but what was on offer was well cooked, tasty and very well presented. Whilst the prices a bit on the high side the portions were just right and the chef threw in a couple of little extras which went down well. Sadly we couldn't see any South American wines on the menu but plumbed for a mid-range California which didn't disappoint. We were surprised how busy it was for a lunch time which is always a good sign. We selected from the a la carte though there was a cheaper luncheon menu available with limited choice.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are thrilled to read you enjoyed your lunch with us. We also appreciate that value for money is important and we are please to inform you that you can enjoy our 3 course Table D'Hote menu for £14.95 pp, saving £5 Tuesday to Saturday. Please do book to guarantee your table. And if the weather is nice why not dine on our Terrace? We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to The Warren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

After looking at The Warren for a while, we decided we would dine here this evening. Wow. Honestly the best decision we have made this week, the place is quirky, not to everyone’s taste but didn’t affect us.

A smiley lady greeted us and was very attentive all the way through the night. We were the only customers in there, which is a real shame because of how amazing it was.
We started with a G&T we chose two different & they were both lovely.
The only little down fall was the homemade bread was a little burnt and the butter was hard so not easy to spread.
The amuse bouche was full of flavour and I would have loved a big bowl of it! The seasoning was perfect.
We shared the pigeon to start, it was perfectly cooked & rested, presentation was fantastic, and the goats cheese mousse just melted in your mouth.
I chose the belly pork, it was divine, seasoned perfectly and again full of flavour, my other half had the venison, he really enjoyed it, the potato was so smooth. He did add a little salt to the venison but nothing too extreme.
We then decided we had to try a pudding and we chose tart au citron, one of our favourites with raspberry sorbet. Raspberry and lemon compliment each other anyway, but it was gorgeous & I’m glad we managed to squeeze it in!
We left with really big smiles & we will definitely be back again!
What a brilliant hidden restaurant.
A little pricey but so worth it, I’m a chef and trying to eat out is so hard, we left with so many compliments it’s defiantly the best restaurant we’ve found in Tunbridge Wells.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank AimeeBaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Warren, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Wow! Thank you for such a generous review. We are currently the 'best kept secret' in Royal Tunbridge Wells and we're working hard to remedy that. Our Chef Raul Savi has been with us since we opened and prior to that worked with Marco Pierre White for 3 years. Raul's culinary ethos is "Let the ingredients speak for themselves, and only use those that you know their provenance". Raul and his team aren't pretentious, rather their menus are playful yet elegant. We can't wait to serve you again and with a daily changing menu - you'll always be in for a pleasant surprise when you dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had our belated 'Christmas do' at The Warren today and the whole experience was excellent. They opened the restaurant 1 hour earlier for us. Staff very friendly and accommodating; they took our coats and took great pride in attention to detail.

The food was exceedingly delicious and very well presented. I had the souffle for starters, the slowed cooked lamb as a main and the sticky toffee pudding as a dessert.

My colleagues had other dishes, we all enjoyed the food and the accomplished service. Servings were not too small and not too large, just perfect, if you are having three courses.

Highly recommendable for fine dining experience. The wines served were also very palatable, I had red wine which was perfect for my lamb.

All in all a most enjoyable evening. Please pay them a visit if you are in Tunbridge Wells.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eangeleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

First time at this restaurant and we will definitely be back.
The ambience inside was really lovely with interesting furniture and yet a homely feel. We were disappointed not to be in the orangery but once seated we did not mind as the atmosphere inside was good. A very nice touch was the pianist who played beautifully throughout the lunch sitting and the complimentary glass of prosecco received on arrival. ( I was also given a mini bottle to take home as a gift )
The food was excellent. A set menu with 4 choices for each course. The cheese soufflé was delicious and my family thoroughly enjoyed their pork. We received warm bread and an amuse bouche to wet our appetites.
The service was good and the staff friendly. We look forward to returning on a night when it is not set menu to see what else is on offer. We also understand they hope to introduce a reasonably priced lunch menu so we will eagerly await news of that.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank 447lizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warren also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing