We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
350
183
37
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
183
37
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub across the road wedding venue sea view sir stanley grey function room events manager lovely hotel large car park wedding reception kippers sandwich definitely stay here again the cliff birthday party comfortable bed weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We first used this hotel last year for our annual 3 day golf trip to Kent. Last year we were very impressed with everything and this year the experience was just the same. The cleanliness is excellent and the quality of the shower is superb. We were staying on half board basis so had evening dinner and breakfast included. The standard of food was very good, the breakfast choice extensive enough for our group. The staff are excellent, friendly and always smiling. The pub, over or under the road, is a good place to enjoy a few drinks after a day out.
All in all another very enjoyable stay and hopefully we will back next year!
Many thanks to all at the Pegwell Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BucksTraveller-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback.

We are very proud of our staff here & we enjoy giving our guests the best service possible with a friendly smile at all times. Our Housekeeping team continue to do a fantastic job with the cleanliness of all hotel rooms. We much appreciate your positive comments & these have been passed on to all members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed or two nights with a nearly 1 year old baby. After being advised that a regukar double room would be to small to accommodate a cot as well we upgraded to a Superior Room. That was ok. The bathroom was huge! Not sure if this is what gave the room the 'superior' title as the bedroom itself was in my opinion a normal size. So I guess the standard double may be a bit on the small side but, i haven't seen any so only guessing.
Room and bathroom itself a clean and comfortable. Shower was one of the best I have ever experienced, ie very powerful! Fantastic for waking up.
The breakfast was also plenty and the cooked breakfast is also very well done and offers good variety.
Staff is friendly and happy to help.
No complaints, would stay there again if we're in the area

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carpediem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, Hotel Reception at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

We do recommend our more spacious rooms when either a cot or put up bed are needed in the room. This all depends on the avaliabilty on the dates required & being a listed building dating back to the early 1800's the rooms sizes varey greatly in size.


We are glad you had an enjoyable stay, & we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this hotel after reading about it on TA using the booking function off this site. We booked two rooms both of which were described as Sea Views. I am not of the opinion that they were. When I opened the curtains my first view was of the car park. Attached is a photo of what I saw when I first looked straight out. If I turned there was a touch more view of the sea but that was then blocked off by a jutting out wall. No one in our group was of the opinion that our rooms possessed sea views (maybe they called be called partial).

I asked reception and they explained it was considered a Seaview. They did seem very keen to help and offered another potential room but when we went to look it turned out to be a level lower and the view of the sea was blocked across by the pub directly across the road. It was explained to get into one of the corner rooms would involve a different tariff which was significantly more than we were paying.

Making the booking there was a problem with getting the credit card payment to go through. Over several phone calls the staff were generally helpful and we finally managed to get the charge to run through. On check out my friends in the 2nd room had their credit card charged even though I had already paid for the rooms. We ended up reversing payments and re-charging. Not the end of the world but frustrating.

More positively -
1. The rooms were nice although the noise does carry particularly from the room above and the hallway - a trait of an older building I guess
2. The bathrooms (and particularly the showers) were really good.
3. The staff seemed keen to provide good service. (having seen that the manager takes the time to respond to nearly all of the reviews this does not surprise me)

Overall, it seemed like a nice hotel; there were just a few small things that - frustratingly detracted from the experience.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the expensive corner ones
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us & please accept the delayed response.

The rooms you booked are on the western facing side of the hotel and offer a view of the cliffs, fields and the sea. Whilst they are not directly sea-facing they have been verified by the AA as Sea View. We do have some superior rooms on the corner of the hotel and these have both southerly and western aspects thus giving the best views of both the sea & cliffs.

I apologise for the frustration you experienced with the credit card payment. We have recently instructed our service provider to improve connectivity of our equipment to eradicate such problems which i totally accept can be very frustrating.

I thank you for your positive comments about our staff, rooms and bathrooms. We constantly strive to improve standards and customer service levels and the team are of one accord when it comes to giving our esteemed guests a great experience.

Please do come back and visit us again in the near future.


Alan Moore CBII
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were just at the hotel for one day but long enough to discover how nice the hotel is. The room we had was spacious and clean. The shower was very nice indeed and the beds were soft and lovely. Breakfast was in a beautiful room with sea views. I imagine in the Summer it would be glorious.
Just the one gripe. The door to the hotel is awful for anyone with limited mobility with very nasty steps. The restaurant is in the pub over the road but we had a smashing meal and there was a friendly atmosphere with good service. However the mobility issue raised it's ugly head again. THere are three ways into the pub. Underground from the hotel, a front entry and a side entrance. They all involve quite steep steps.
Apart from that he place is brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for you recent review, and apologies for the delay in responding to you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found both the hotel and breakfast rooms to be pleasant.

Thank you for your comments regarding access. This is something that we have been reviewing and are pleased to say that our bar and restaurant area has been granted planning permission for a small extension, within which has been incorporated full disabled access and disabled toilets. This is scheduled to take place towards the end of the year. The Hotel steps unfortunately can prove a difficulty for those with mobility issues, but due to it being a listed building we are limited to the changes we are able to make to the exisitng structure. We do however have a disabled access which is located on the the other side of reception. We also have a help call point which is just to the left of the steps should anyone require assistance. We hope these points will help should you decide to come and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again for your feed back, and we hope you do come to stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Rebecca Bromage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Take a lovely building, refurbish it well, keep maintenance up to date, have good housekeepers keeping it clean - many hotels do that. What sets the Pegwell Bay way, way above the rest is that they employ genuinely HAPPY and highly competent staff who delight in helping make your stay more than enjoyable.

Recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast, also the hot ruby grapefruit. Breakfast is cooked to order so is fresh and delicious. Sunday roast dinner is also excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view essential.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upferyertea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel.

As I have said to previous reviewers, we are very proud of the staff we have here and know that they do take genuine delight in ensuring all of our guests recieve the best possible level of service. I am delighted that you have been met with this standard of service and hope we will be welcoming you back to The Pegwell Bay Hotel soon. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back!

Kind Regards
Rebecca Bromage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews