We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If there is a heaven.....”
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Breakfast in the Garden
Broadstairs, a lovely walk
Dumpton Gap, nearest beach
Ramsgate Marina
Pugin's House
Kingsgate Beach, so tranquil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If there is a heaven.....”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well I've been to the Gatehouse AGAIN! THis time I took a friend who had not visited the area before. She was as enamoured as me- it is just the perfect place for complete relaxation. Excellent dog walking, fabulous beaches, friendly people, handy shops etc, good bars and cafes. And to top all that, the house is just a jewel! We will be back and thank you for letting us share your lovely house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandieb26...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Gate House”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

What a find - lovely old and quirky house, right on the edge of a great park in Ramsgate. Easy access to Ramsgate and the walk to Broadstairs via Dumpton Gap is beautiful along the coast.
The house has everything you need in a place to stay, including a cosy fireplace!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judi r
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a joy!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Loved this place, relaxed, cosy and well equipped but best of all for us -dog friendly!! Our Jack Russell thought he was in heaven, one step out of the front door and he was in the park, a short walk through the park and there's the beach, he couldn't believe his luck!! A thoroughly lovely cottage for all year round breaks and a big thank you to Denise for her friendly welcome!! (Next time we go we will take a couple of torches -its incredibly dark at night!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K
1 review
“Serenity and unbeatable scenery of nature.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spend as a family with two sons,17 and 18 years and two English Bulldogs a wonderful holiday in this cosy,lovely old house where you can feel some history, breath the sea air, hear the sound of the seagulls when you drink a coffe in the morning and see the squirrels playing in the sunrize from your bedroomn-window....So if you want to dive into silence pureness and nature, that means everythings taken you away from stress and noise,so in the Gate House in Ramsgate you are in the right place. Our two English Bulldogs had also a great stay cause thye had their own entertainment center( the beautiful parc ) just out of the door. This house has everything you need for a stay with the whole family. All sky chains in tv ( which was cool for our sons ),parking,nice decoration in all rooms,a full furnished kitchen and a nice walled-garden. You are close to Ramsgate-Harbour and all the shops,pubs restaurants etc. A short but wonderful walk along the beach to Broadstairs where we can recommand "The Tamarind",a very good indian restaurant. Go to visit The shell Grotto in Margate it's beautiful and The Botany Bay will make you speechless.....Thanks to the owner,family Francis-Hill for the welcome bottle of wine and for letting us live for two unforgettable weeks with our dogs in your Gate House.We want to come back and hide away once again from stress and noise....Family Walravens Patrick and Tanja,Cédric and Yannick,"Sparky and Amy"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loacation where the house was situated
Liked least: That bedlinen was not funished
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Long overdue review but as I am just about to book a break here for the THIRD time, I noticed someone left a negative review. Whilst everyone is entitled to their opinion, in this case, such a review is totally unjustified. This house is a gem! A real home from home and the décor and facilities are really good and have certainly been clean on my previous two visits. I, personally prefer to take all my own bedding- plus throws for the furniture as I have two dogs and am very careful to not leave a trace of them. The housekeeper is lovely and her standards are excellent. I would highly recommend this house- it is lovely, the location is amazing- especially for kids and dogs, you don't need to drive anywhere! I think the negative review was written by someone who lives in an antiseptic bubble and takes hand sanitiser everywhere! I LOVE the Gate House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing