We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
superking size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
superking size bed
river dour
natural real Pebble floor
Bathroom
Bouquet , basket , champagne can be arranged ( price on request )
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Carmen D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value property”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Dover and in the apartment. Excellent stop over place to visit the cliffs and the castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guzziplac...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This apartment was let down by numerous little faults”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having visited this Luxury Apartment in the listed water mill, Dover, Kent , it is a nice apartment however the owners seem to have let standards slip a little, and small faults add up to a not so Luxurious Apartment. On arrival you are given a number to text so that the owner's representative (maintenance man) can meet you and provide introduction and keys. After the first text we waited 10 minutes, I then called and left a message, and the owner's representative (who was in the building), met us after about another 10 minutes. I had to nip to the car shortly after arrival, only, on my return to the front door I discovered we had been given the wrong keys! It was sorted quickly, as an error, but thankfully we didn't just go out and turn up late that evening to find out we couldn't get in, and that would not have been funny. Be aware there is no allocated parking space for this apartment, therefore, on our return the first evening, we had to park in a builders yard around the corner, as parking on site is definitely first come first served. Parking in the street is definitely at a premium as all the side streets were full with own resident parking. Apparently there are about 9 or 10 spaces for 18 apartments!
A few of the other issues we encountered are; the kitchen light has three bulbs and only one worked, the under cupboard counter lights didn't work at all, the sink taps were loose in the kitchen unit, we had to de-scale the kettle before use, the TV signal was poor and even through a digi box we couldn't get BBC to give a stable picture, although most other channels worked. The TV is a good size and the Wi-Fi worked well. The door between the hall and front door closed but didn't latch closed so was just pushed shut. Regarding the water heater, there is a scrappy note in the kitchen telling you what times the water is being heated, (there is a override if needed), so we timed our first days morning wash to coincide with the morning timer, only to find the timer was not on British Summer Time, and therefore we had to use the override or wait another hour for hot water. Also the radiator in the bathroom comes on full, even though the central heating was off, and it has no thermostat to isolate it.
The bath has a hand held shower hose, but don't expect a shower, as it's not possible, with no hook for the shower head and no curtain.
This apartment was let down by numerous little faults and we would not stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
First of all we state in our advert off street parking , not allocated parking , further more the key situation was not down to us but a security lapse in the building and was quickly rectified by Mick , the undercounted lights where not reported as broken by previous guests and have been fine for two years ?
You stated on arrival ? ' don't spose there's any wifi ' ? We are not sure why you would sumise this as it is stated in our ad ?
Further more we have overlooked that you tampered with the thermostat and caused the hot water to heat up to unacceptable levels which wAs dangerous to our next guests who where attempting a cross Chanel swim ? However they where most gracious and did not blame us for one minute !
Two bulbs where blown an there where replacements in the kitchen drawer ?
The nature of the building as grade 2 listed , the electrics can cause the bulbs to blow at an alarming rate ! But hey that's what you can expect when you book a holiday let that had a 200 year history !
I would like to add we needed to get an engineer out to rectify the tampering you under took , and we did not take this charge from your deposit ! As did you not put this review until after your deposit was given back to you in good faith !
I suggest in future you find accommodation that best suits your age group and disposition that we can only summise from our experience is a grumpy nit picking know it all !
please read our countless excellent reviews and make your own judgements
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert h
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would like to keep this place secret for ourselves”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Outstanding apartment booked for our wedding anniversary , well placed for visiting east Kent , helpful owner and caretaker, we will certainly be re booking this apartment

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review , please do return and take advantage of our 20% reduction for returning guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Herb
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Very Upmarket”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The apartment is so lovely and decorated to a very high standard. the water outside is a bit loud but very soothing and just what I was looking for. the only thing that I would change is I'd move it closer to the town centre! Bed is super comfy and the whole place is very clean and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic two night stay at the apartment. It is beautifully decorated and clean throughout. The owner met us with the keys even when we arrived later than expected.
The apartment itself is in a good location, only 20 minutes drive from Canterbury. There is ample parking around the apartment. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Huge bath and bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing