We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close Enough To Touch the Cathedral” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Close Enough To Touch the Cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Comfortable room in modern settings. Could not have been closer to Canterbury Cathedral unless we slept there. Staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and how pleased you were with the customer service. We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in the country.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    302
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
155
647
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The website was promissing, nice pictures, good reviews on tripadvisor, but what a dirty hotel! Arrived in a clean reception, nice parkingspace on the cathedral house. We have booked in the older hotel, not in the new part. When we arrived at the sidebuilding and opend the door, the smell was terribel, blood on the walls, the carpet over the place wasn't cleaned in I think over 5 years... The room was spacious, but the toilet leaked on the ground, beds have old matrasses, and felt almost apart. Heating was broken.
Sheets were cleaned, but was the older sheets from the new hotel, the stains from the year before you could still see.
The day after that, the toilet was fixed,....., but was leaking heaver then before on the ground... Breakfast was normal, not exeptional.
And then I'm not speaking from the aironoise, and noise of the waterpump, that was like a train moving next to your room....
No spare room available, we did receive a small reduction on the total price, but that's it.
The only positive was that you can visit and walk around the Cathedral grounds, but that's it.
That was our 2nd worst hotel visit in the UK, after the Burston at Folkestone, but there was the fungus very good present....
Disapointment all the way!!! note I don't speak for the new part of the hotel, could be better...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am extremely disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us.
As stated we do offer our budget rooms as a low cost alternative to The Lodge bedrooms, however please be assured that guests can expect the same high levels cleaning, toiletries and high quality linen in all our bedrooms.
I completely understand how inconvenient it is to have any maintenance issues occur during your stay, particularly with the toilet facilities. We always try to rectify faults quickly and efficiently and if this is not possible offer alternatives. On this occasion you were given another single room to use the facilities, if we hadn’t been fully booked we would have happily moved you to a different room.
We also offered you a reasonable discount on your room rate as a gesture of goodwill, which, at the time, you felt compensated you sufficiently.
I’m sorry you had to endure this unforeseen problem but hope we dealt with it in the best way possible at the time.
The budget bedrooms will be getting a makeover in 2012; I hope we can persuade you to return to see the results.
My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

14 of us gathered for our annual get-together around the country.
All thought it positively the very best during the past seventeen years.
The rooms, the greeting, the care, the food - you could not better.
Of ourse, the fact we were within the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral enhanced the whole stay.
Nothing too much trouble and the peace and quiet gave us a haven to relax in.

Room Tip: No noise, no smells - we believe every room is a credit to all. Only ground and first floors - lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed your weekend away. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing your kind comments with the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for hree nights in a comfortable room with everything you need for your stay. Every memeber of staff I met was unfailingly helpful and polite. This was a business stay, but I would happily return for a holiday break. First class in every respect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I would like to send you our sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

Customer Service is our number one priority and I am delighted that you felt we lived up to this.

I do hope you will return for a holiday in the near future and when you do we will be delighted to welcome you again.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a really nice stay @ the Cathedral lodge, excellent location within the cathedral precincts & what a view! lovely breakfast also.
Well worth staying there for something different with the location
Free entry into the cathedral also, which is normally £9 each
Parking is £5 per day, but we parked right outside
Bit difficult to find, but when found it location was amazing!

Room Tip: Room 216 was a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPKS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and that you managed to take advantage of free entry into the Cathedral.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): $152 - $226
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing