We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best get-together we have enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

14 of us gathered for our annual get-together around the country.
All thought it positively the very best during the past seventeen years.
The rooms, the greeting, the care, the food - you could not better.
Of ourse, the fact we were within the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral enhanced the whole stay.
Nothing too much trouble and the peace and quiet gave us a haven to relax in.

Room Tip: No noise, no smells - we believe every room is a credit to all. Only ground and first floors - lift...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed your weekend away. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing your kind comments with the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 966 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed for hree nights in a comfortable room with everything you need for your stay. Every memeber of staff I met was unfailingly helpful and polite. This was a business stay, but I would happily return for a holiday break. First class in every respect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to send you our sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

Customer Service is our number one priority and I am delighted that you felt we lived up to this.

I do hope you will return for a holiday in the near future and when you do we will be delighted to welcome you again.

My very best wishes

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a really nice stay @ the Cathedral lodge, excellent location within the cathedral precincts & what a view! lovely breakfast also.
Well worth staying there for something different with the location
Free entry into the cathedral also, which is normally £9 each
Parking is £5 per day, but we parked right outside
Bit difficult to find, but when found it location was amazing!

Room Tip: Room 216 was a good view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPKS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and that you managed to take advantage of free entry into the Cathedral.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Recently stayed at CCL for a weekend. Location was great, very special to be staying within the grounds of the cathedral. However the accom is very much a conference lodging (ie very generic), to be fair the accom website doesn't hide this it was just that from the TA reviews I was expecting somthing more unique. The room we had on the first night was very small and the bed tiny (I'm 5.9 and my feet hung well over the end). The receptionist dealt with my complaint well and moved us to another room that had joined twin beds (which I fitted on!). Wifi also either didn't work in the rooms or was very slow.

Overall friendly, clean accom but nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a joined twin bed rather than a double.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TryAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. Whilst we were pleased to hear how much you liked the location, we were disappointed to learn that the room you were initially allocated did not meet your expectations. Please accept my reassurances that all our double bedded rooms are furnished with a standard double mattress. I am glad we were able to resolve your difficulties and was particularly pleased to hear how our reception team resolved your dissatisfaction. With regard to your comments about Wi-Fi coverage, I can confirm I have checked coverage in several locations this morning and have not experienced the same difficulties you describe. I will however refer this to my IT technician for further investigation.


Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Right next to the Cathedral its got a stunning location. We got the feeling that its really aimed at people visiting the Cathedral and staying for a couple of nights possibly on a course or at a conference.The ambience is quiet and formal ..its not a bustling hotel by any means and there's a large framed picture of the Archbishop of Canterbury next to the reception desk which sets the tone of the place. This isn't meant as negative criticism. Its scrupulously clean and has all the essentials but apart from some hanging space in the bedroom there was no storage ..no drawers for clothes nor are there any cupboards so while not exactly austere it wasn't luxurious but at the price you couldn't complain at all . The price was very good and the staff superb.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyvernWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and how pleased you were with the customer service. If you are considering a return visit at some point in the future, please can I suggest double checking the availability of our twin bedded rooms, which can be made up as double and benefit from additional storage space.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.6 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,114 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $157 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing