We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars definitely earned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Vicki greeted us and she was effiecient and pleasant and you could see that she was proud of her establishment. She took us to our room at the top overlooking the gardens and we were very pleased immediately. Yorke Lodge is conveniently located to walk everywhere and it is a great room to come back to after you have been walking all day.

Breakfast was nicley laid out and met all our requirements.

Thank you Vicki for making our stay so pleasant during our two nights with you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our trip of a lifetime was made even more special by this choice of accommodation. The balance of professionalism and warmth made our stay comfortable, relaxing and incredibly convenient. The choice of options for breakfast, pleased all three generations of our family and the tips and hints given by our gracious hostess were invaluable. Both Canterbury West rail station and the bus services were walking distance as well as the town itself if the weather is great. We recommend Yorke Lodge to anyone looking for the best experience of hospitality in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Good location being only a short walk into Canterbury (though road at the front a bit noisy if you're not used to traffic), friendly staff, lovely rooms - well decorated and spotlessly clean. Decent cooked breakfast but thought the continental breakfast (two 'supermarket' croissants and two half slices of pre-packed cheese) could have been better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Yorke Lodge is well situated; just a 10 minute walk to the town and some excellent restaurants.
The room was excellent, well decorated and clean overlooking the rear garden, the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was very good.

I would recommend Yorke Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Upon arrival at the Yorke Lodge we were welcomed by the friendly proprietor Vicky. She could not have been more helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor. It was a bit small but quite lovely. But, the real treat was when we arrived at breakfast the next morning. You are first served cereals, pastries, toasts, coffee or tea. Then, your full English breakfast arrives. The breakfast room is lovely. And, as the week progressed we stayed longer and longer each morning in the breakfast room. Vicky suggested a walking tour of Canterbury which we took and also some restaurants for dinner. She is absolutely the perfect hostess. Loved the B&B and would definitely return. Highly recommend the Yorke Lodge.

Room Tip: I suggest a room that is not facing the street. The Lodge did not have A/C and with the windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
1.2 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,205 reviews
2 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
331 reviews
1.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bed and Breakfast 50 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $147 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B located only 10 minutes stroll to the City Centre & Cathedral. Built in 1887 the house still retains many of its original features today. Now with 8 en suite bedrooms this is a quintessential Victorian Villa. Facilities include elegant breakfast room and sun terrace. All bedrooms recently refurbished & offer a comfortable ‘home from home’ feel but with all the modern day extras you would expect to see in a hotel. The B&B is dog friendly, has a lovely garden and is a peaceful oasis if you'd prefer not to be right in the city centre. Vicky O’Shea has owned and run Yorke Lodge for over 15 years and loves welcoming guests every day. You can be assured of a warm welcome, local knowledge and friendly, personal service throughout your stay. We are adding a conservatory in 2017 which will further enhance your stay at any time of year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing